Make Disciples, Not Converts to Our Opinions

“Lord, grant that I might not so much seek to be loved as to love.” – Francis of Assisi
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is turpitude, which means, “vile, shameful, or base character; depravity,” or, “a vile or depraved act.”

Today is No Pants Day! If only I didn’t have to go to work! But you can bet they will be off as soon as I get home!

It’s Friday! Christi continues to feel better, physically. She’s going through some stress at work, though. It will probably all be okay, in the long run. It usually is.

The Rangers got spanked by the Canadians, last night, 12-2. I was mistaken, yesterday, when I said that they had a 3-game losing streak. This was pointed out by my good friend and faithful Rangers fan, Rick. NOW, they have a 3-game losing streak. The Red Sox pulled out another win against the best in the AL last night, beating the Other Sox 7-3. Tonight, they face the struggling Evil Empire in NY.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Praise is due to you, O God, in Zion, and to you shall vows be performed.
O you who hear prayer, to you shall all flesh come.
When iniquities prevail against me, you atone for our transgressions.
Blessed is the one you choose and bring near, to dwell in your courts! We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house, the holiness of your temple!
By awesome deeds you answer us with righteousness, O God of our salvation, the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas;
the one who by his strength established the mountains, being girded with might;
who stills the roaring of the seas, the roaring of their waves, the tumult of the peoples,
so that those who dwell at the ends of the earth are in awe at your signs. You make the going out of the morning and the evening to shout for joy.

Psalm 65:1-8

Our experience of salvation should not lead us down a path of “neurotic concern for our own soul,” yet that seems to be where so many Christians are. It should lead us “to a widened conception of God’s power and strength,” and make us more aware of everything that God does everywhere.

“Almighty God, I want to be in on everything you are doing. I don’t want to be tied to my own worries, or confined to my private joys – I want to participate in praise and adoration in all you do, throughout the whole earth, among every people.” In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.
Galatians 5:1

The one who is spiritually minded will never come to you and demand that you “believe this and that,” rather that “you square your life with the standards of Jesus.” We are not asked to believe the Bible, but to believe the one whom it reveals (see John 5:39-40).

Our lives should always be measured by the standard of Jesus. It is his yoke (the easy yoke) alone that we should bow to, and no other yoke. In addition, we should be careful to never place a yoke on someone else, that is not placed by Jesus Christ. “It takes God a long time to get us out of the way of thinking that unless everyone sees as we do, they must be wrong.” Judging from what I see on Facebook every day, there are still many people who are stuck there.

Jesus told us to go and make disciples, not converts to our opinions.

Father, you have brought me a long way in this area, but I still have far to go. I still tend to be overly concerned for my own soul, and less confident that you are able to hold on to what you have acquired for yourself. I also struggle with beliefs over faith and knowledge. Teach me more about Jesus; make my knowledge secure that it might feed my faith, so that I can properly walk in your kingdom with the liberty that you have given.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

