Ideal or Vision

“He is no fool who give what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.” – Jim Elliot
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is cryptarchy, which means, “Secret government; an example of this.”

After No Sock Day, comes Lost Sock Memorial Day. So here’s to all of those lost socks that the dryer gets blamed for. I’ve read, somewhere, that it’s most likely the washer that eats them, rather than the dryer. Supposedly, they slip over the top of the drum in the washer and fall beneath it. I’ve never taken one out to verify that.

We had a very nice day, yesterday. After church, we had a simple lunch of Subway salads (we don’t try to go out on Mother’s Day . . . too crowded), after which we headed to Euless to our favorite Nail Spa, where we all got pedicures. After that, we swung by PetSmart to get Tessie some dog food, then noticed that there was a Baskin Robbins ice cream store in the same parking lot. So we got some ice cream. Then we went home to chill for the rest of the afternoon, watching some TV shows. We finished season one of Jane the Virgin, at which point we discovered that we will have to wait a while before we can watch season two, as it is just now concluding, so it won’t be on Netflix for a while.

It’s Monday again, so another week begins. There’s nothing much going on this week, that I know of. I have band practice tonight, C has her ladies group meeting tonight, and we have our semi-monthly prayer gathering on Wednesday.

I’m pretty sure the Rangers swept the Tigers over the weekend. They won yesterday afternoon, 8-3, after a 7-run 8th inning. They are currently a half game behind the Mariners. The Red Sox beat the Evil Empire, last night, after losing two games to them. They are still up on them for the season, though, 4-2, I think. The Red Sox are also a half game behind the Orioles, in second place. Tonight, they begin a series with the A’s, and the Rangers play the Other Sox, who swept them in an earlier series, this season.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

I will come into your house with burnt offerings; I will perform my vows to you,
that which my lips uttered and my mouth promised when I was in trouble.
I will offer to you burnt offerings of fattened animals, with the smoke of the sacrifice of rams; I will make an offering of bulls and goats. Selah.
Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell what he has done for my soul.
I cried to him with my mouth, and high praise was on my tongue.
If I had cherished iniquity in my heart, the Lord would not have listened.
But truly God has listened; he has attended to the voice of my prayer.

Blessed be God, because he has not rejected my prayer or removed his steadfast love from me!

Psalm 66:13-20

“The ecstasy of deliverance cuts a channel in which promises may be kept and repentance practiced. We nurture the intensities of joy not by seeking new pleasures, but by practicing an old obedience.”

“Father, I want to learn to use the strength you give me during the extremities of my need in the duties of my ordinary days. Help me to be as open to you when I don’t feel I need you as when I do. In the name of Jesus ‘in whom there no variation or shadow due to change’ (James 1:17). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“Grasp without Reach”

Where there is no prophetic vision the people cast off restraint,
Proverbs 29:18

“There is a difference between an ideal and a vision. An ideal has not moral inspiration; a vision has.” When we give ourselves to an ideal, we usually find that we don’t actually do anything. In fact, it may very well be our conception of God that keeps us from doing our duty. But when we have a vision, there is right behavior, “because the vision imparts moral incentive.”

“When once we lose sight of God, we begin to be reckless, we cast off certain restraints, we cast off praying, we cast off the vision of God in little things, and begin to act on our own initiative.”

What do I expect God to do? Do I expect him to do greater things in me? Is there “freshness and vigour” in my spiritual outlook?

Father, create or restore a vision within me, a vision of what you want to do in my life. Yesterday, our pastor talked about grace being you doing in our lives what we cannot do on our own. I want to see that grace at work in my life, because there are plenty of things that I cannot do. Show me what you want to do in my life, Father.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

