What Is Love?

“When love is at its best, one loves so much that he cannot forget.” – Helen Hunt Jackson
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is eldritch, which means “eerie; weird; spooky.” “We boys used to overrun the place, and I can still recall my youthful terror not only at the morbid strangeness of this sinister vegetation, but at the eldritch atmosphere and odor of the dilapidated house, whose unlocked front door was often entered in quest of shudders.” – H.P. Lovecraft, “The Shunned House.”

“You are about to enter another dimension, a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind. A journey into a wondrous land of imagination. Next stop, the Twilight Zone!” Yes, ladies and gentlemen, today is Twilight Zone Day!

We had a small storm come through last night. It wasn’t so small in other areas, though. People in Hurst lost power and trees; our pastor posted on GroupMe that he though he had just driven through a tornado, and my mother called to make sure we were okay. We were, as all we got was some rain and thunder and mild high winds. I guess the worst part went a little south of us.

Speaking of my mother, today is supposed to be her last day of radiation! We are all excited about that. I think the next phase is hormone therapy, which, I believe, is a daily pill. But no more trips to Weatherford (except when she wants to) after today.

The Red Sox gave the A’s another spanking, last night, picking up where they left off Monday night. They won 13-5, and are in a virtual tie with Baltimore, the O’s being on top by 7 percentage points. The Rangers finally beat the Other Sox, 13-11, after an amazing comeback 7-run 8th inning! They remain 1.5 games behind the Mariners.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

God shall arise, his enemies shall be scattered; and those who hate him shall flee before him!
As smoke is driven away, so you shall drive them away; as wax melts before fire, so the wicked shall perish before God!
But the righteous shall be glad; they shall exult before God; they shall be jubilant with joy!
Sing to God, sing praises to his name; lift up a song to him who rides through the deserts; his name is the LORD; exult before him!

Psalm 68:1-4

We sometimes worry that God is on the defensive, which makes for some pretty “anxious religion.” And in our day and age, it’s not hard to think that way. But if we pay attention to Scripture and Psalms such as this one, we see that God is the aggressor. “The wicked do well to scurry for cover; the righteous can only be ‘jubilant with joy’ (v. 3).”

“God of strength, overthrow every tendency to anxiety in my heart, every timid fear, every faithless doubt: I know you are victorious over every sin and all evil. Reign victoriously in me, with the power of the risen Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

“You Won’t Reach It on Tiptoe”

and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love.
2 Peter 1:7

Most of us don’t even know what we mean when we talk about love. What is love? Howard Jones asked this question in 1983.

“Love is the sovereign preference of one person for another, and spiritually Jesus demands that that preference be for Himself.”

We must allow the Holy Spirit to dispel any pretense or pious feelings from us. “The Holy Spirit reveals that God loved me not because I was lovable, but because it was His nature to do so.” Let us never be so arrogant as to think that God loved us because we were lovable. Now, he asks us to share that same love with others, to love as he has loved us. He will bring people around us that are annoying, people we find it hard to even respect, and we must exhibit the love of Christ to them. (Believe me, this is pounding on my toes, right now.)

“The knowledge that God has loved me to the uttermost will send me forth into the world to love in the same way.” The love of God in my life is inexhaustible, it has no limits. And I must love people from this foundation of endless, limitless love.

Father, I pray for help. I desperately need your help in this. May your Holy Spirit bring to mind, today, the immense, limitless love with which you have loved me, so that I might share that same love with people around me, especially people that I don’t really like; people who annoy me or “push my buttons.” Your demands are not unreasonable, and if we share it, the yoke of Christ is the easy yoke. Your grace is sufficient.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

