To Be with Jesus, Our Teacher

“When you judge another, you do not define them, you define yourself.” – Wayne Dyer
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is chocoholic. I think we all know what that means.

Today is Blame Someone Else Day. “I didn’t say it was your fault; I said I was going to blame you.”

Today is also Friday the 13, for any friggatriskaidekaphobics out there.

It’s Friday. Oh. I just said that. Yesterday was busy, but it was a pretty good day, by the time it ended. Something that I was reading caught my attention and held it for the rest of the day, which was a good thing. It said (not verbatim, because I don’t remember the exact wording) that every moment is an opportunity to be with Jesus, our teacher. It was said by John Ortberg at a conference that he and Dallas Willard did back in 2013. It made me think about how much I have NOT been realizing or acting in that way. And it truly colored the rest of my afternoon, which was a good thing.

C will be going to a ladies’ event, this evening. They’re just gathering at someone’s house for pizza and whatever. I’ll be playing on the PS4, more than likely.

The Rangers didn’t play last night, and neither did the Mariners, so their positions remained constant. Tonight, the Rangers play the Boo Jays, while the Mariners get to play the stumbling Angels. That’s hardly fair. The Red Sox, on the other hand, did play last night, and defeated the Astros 11-1, making it four consecutive games with 11 or more runs, and 51 runs in four games. This team is on fire. Jackie Bradley, Jr. has a 17-game hitting streak going on. Unfortunately, the O’s also played and won, so that virtual tie remains.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

O God, when you went out before your people, when you marched through the wilderness, Selah.
the earth quaked, the heavens poured down rain, before God, the One of Sinai, before God, the God of Israel.
Rain in abundance, O God, you shed abroad; you restored your inheritance as it languished;
your flock found a dwelling in it; in your goodness, O God, you provided for the needy.

Psalm 68:7-10

“God is not a stingy taskmaster; he is a generous savior. His way of salvation travels perilous paths and confronts fearsome hardship, but it leads to pastures where joy and praise are abundant.”

“Your mighty acts, O God, have forged a path of discipleship for me. Because you go before me powerfully and compassionately, I follow in joy and in trust, through Jesus Christ.Amen.”

Father, this morning, as I get ready for work, may I see each moment as an opportunity to be lived with you, in the presence of Jesus Christ. I know that he is always present, but I do not always recognize his presence. Help me to do that constantly during this day. May I find my dwelling place in you as you provide for me and my family.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

