Victory Celebration

“Spring won’t let me stay in this house any longer! I must get out and breathe the air deeply again.” – Gustav Mahler
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is panjandrum, which is “a self-important or pretentious official.”

Today is World Baking Day. Too bad it’s on a Tuesday. I don’t have time to bake, today.

Band practice was a little bit of a downer, last night. I enjoyed being with my musician friends, but it seemed as if the director did nothing but yell at us last night. As I talked to another trombone player, he opined that it was about the same as always, and laughed. I suppose I was a little more sensitive last night, for some reason. Who knows? Maybe part of it is that we are playing a piece that is a medley of music from Dances with Wolves, which has the most boring trombone part I have ever played!

The Red Sox got rained out in Kansas City, last night, and Baltimore didn’t play, either, so nothing changed in the AL East. The Rangers lost to the A’s (what??) in Oakland. Maybe it was jet lag. Or starting the game at 9:00PM Central Time. But that drops Dutch Oven to 3-3 on the season. Fortunately, Seattle didn’t play, so they are now in a “virtual tie,” like the Red Sox and O’s, with a mere 4 percentage points between them.

It’s Tuesday. Post-Monday. One of my work friends and I decided, yesterday, that Monday is really “Hump Day.” If we can get through Monday, the rest of the week is downhill. 😀 My wife doesn’t agree. She feels like the whole week is uphill until Friday. I totally get that.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Your procession is seen, O God, the procession of my God, my King, into the sanctuary—
the singers in front, the musicians last, between them virgins playing tambourines:
“Bless God in the great congregation, the LORD, O you who are of Israel’s fountain!”
There is Benjamin, the least of them, in the lead, the princes of Judah in their throng, the princes of Zebulun, the princes of Naphtali.

Psalm 68:24-27

We can learn a lot about worship from Israel, as they are frequently seen worshiping with “exuberance and jubilation.” Our public, corporate worship should be, every time we gather, “a victory celebration!”

“Great God, whose name is praised by faithful men and women in every land, take my songs of gratitude and words of witness and fuse them into what all your people celebrate. In the strong name of Jesus Christ. Amen.”

As we prepare for a “Night of Worship” this coming Saturday evening, I want my heart to be in that kind of place, where this gathering of God’s people, Christ followers, is, indeed, a victory celebration.

Father, prepare my heart, as I have been praying for you to prepare everyone’s, for this worship time, this victory celebration. This will be the first event of this type that I have participated in. Sure, I have been involved with nights of praise and worship before, but this is different. This will be a more “eclectic” gathering, of people that I know and don’t know, as we gather to celebrate that which we have in common, a union with Jesus Christ, our Savior. May we walk in your Kingdom as we move toward this night, and may your Holy Spirit “show up” and radically change us.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends!

Leave a Reply

