A Passionate Spirit

“The two most powerful warriors are patience and time.” – Leo Tolstoy
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Merriam-Webster, is ideate, which means, “to form an idea.”

Today is Goth Day. Is that even still a thing? When is Visigoth Day?

(This section has been edited, as I was not in a good place when I originally wrote it.)

We did wind up going to the Night of Worship, last night, and we had a good time. I had to get there at 4:00PM for sound check/rehearsal, and so on. It was a good time, and we certainly worshiped. I think that it pretty much turned out exactly like Brandon (the host) and his wife wanted it to. There were children there running around the whole time, which, at times was distracting, but they also played some rhythm instruments that were available, sometimes even in time with the musicians. Brandon led the first set, with a couple of our other leaders playing behind him. One of our other worship leaders, Terry, led the second set, which I believe was the high point of the evening. There were times he was almost so overwhelmed he couldn’t keep singing! I led a couple of songs after that, “Blessed Assurance,” and “God of Wonders.” One lady told me, this morning, that she was glad I sang “Blessed Assurance.” The last set was some friends of Brandon, and they were good, but we weren’t as familiar with some of their songs.

There were people having snacks, children running around, and just an over-all sense of community, which is really what we are supposed to be all about.

We’re getting ready for church this morning. I’m still not feeling great, but don’t feel worse. I’ll keep loading up on Dayquil, I guess. We worship at 10:15, The Exchange, meeting at the Northpark YMCA, 9100 North Beach St., in Fort Worth. We also have a PAT meeting after church, so I’ll get getting home later in the afternoon.

Oh. The Red Sox and the Rangers both won, and Jackie Bradly, Jr. extended his hitting streak to 26.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

For zeal for your house has consumed me, and the reproaches of those who reproach you have fallen on me.
When I wept and humbled my soul with fasting, it became my reproach.
When I made sackcloth my clothing, I became a byword to them.
I am the talk of those who sit in the gate, and the drunkards make songs about me.
But as for me, my prayer is to you, O LORD. At an acceptable time, O God, in the abundance of your steadfast love answer me in your saving faithfulness.
Deliver me from sinking in the mire; let me be delivered from my enemies and from the deep waters.
Let not the flood sweep over me, or the deep swallow me up, or the pit close its mouth over me.

Psalm 69:9-15

“In a sea of religious mediocrity, ardent faith stands out as a lone volcanic island. The sea washes its banks and tries to erode its shores. But however vast the sea, it is no match for the inner fires that explode toward heaven.” (Eugene has such a way with words!)

“O God, I want to develop the passionate spirit that you revealed in Jesus, rich in bold faith and adventurous trust. I want my life to become intense through faith, not flaccid through laziness. Amen.”

Father, I, too, desire the “passionate spirit” that Peterson speaks of. I desire the faith that stands out, especially when the storms of life threaten to erode it and wash it away. Keep teaching me about your kingdom and how to walk in it. I will never be too old to keep learning about Christ and the your kingdom.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

