Father, Forgive Them

“You cannot step into the same river twice.” – Heraclitus
(BrainyQuote)

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is gormless, which means, “lacking in vitality or intelligence; stupid, dull, or clumsy.

Today is Escargot Day. I have to say I’ve never had any. Supposedly, it is a delicacy.

Band practice was fun last night. Sadly, we only had three trombones, and none of them on the third part. I’m playing first for this concert, and the other two guys that were there last night play second. We have a lady who will be playing first, but she won’t be back to rehearsals until school is out, because she is a teacher, and it’s very busy for her during this time of year.

Our next concert will be on July 3, for the Southlake fireworks event. I like that they do it on the third. It’s on Sunday, this year, and July 4th falls on Monday, so we get a long weekend. Next year, it will be on Tuesday, which will be awkward, as it will mean a day of work, one day off, and three days of work.

The Red Sox were off last night. The Rangers, and Derek Holland lost to the Angels, last night, 2-0. I’m pretty sure that’s three losses in a row for Holland, but this time, it’s more because the Rangers didn’t plate any runs for him.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Let their own table before them become a snare; and when they are at peace, let it become a trap.
Let their eyes be darkened, so that they cannot see, and make their loins tremble continually.
Pour out your indignation upon them, and let your burning anger overtake them.
May their camp be a desolation; let no one dwell in their tents.
For they persecute him whom you have struck down, and they recount the pain of those you have wounded.
Add to them punishment upon punishment; may they have no acquittal from you.
Let them be blotted out of the book of the living; let them not be enrolled among the righteous.
But I am afflicted and in pain; let your salvation, O God, set me on high!

Psalm 69:22-29

We read psalms like this one and think, “Is it really okay to pray like this??” But I believe, along with Peterson, that the fact that this is written here is “evidence that God listens to us when we are angry, and accepts us even while we are burning with revenge.” However, it is not necessarily evidence that he will do what we ask in these prayers. “God shows us how to respond to persecution in Jesus who prayed, ‘Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do’ (Luke 23:34).”

“Dear God, teach me to love my enemies and do good to those who hate me, to bless those who curse me and pray for those who abuse me, to be merciful even as you, Father, are merciful, after the example of Jesus Christ. Amen.”

Father, I have felt like praying prayers such as this psalm, and probably even have. But I pray, rather, that my mind and heart would be like that of Jesus, who prayed for forgiveness for his enemies. While I don’t know of anyone trying to kill me, I have had “enemies” who have mistreated members of my family, and have desired vengeance upon them. I would not take vengeance myself, as you forbid this. I have prayed for you to do bad things to them, though. For this I confess and ask forgiveness. Give me the heart and mind of Christ. Form his life in me, Father.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

4 thoughts on “Father, Forgive Them

  1. It’s pretty darn hard to pray for your enemies. We just don’t want to. After all, they’re our enemies! But yup, we’re supposed to.

    “….gormless, which means, ‘lacking in vitality or intelligence; stupid, dull, or clumsy.’ ” Unfortunately, I feel like this on a lot of days. I actually pray that I wouldn’t be so stupid and it’s a prayer I hope gets answered. Peace out.

    1. I’m right there with you on both topics. Very difficult to pray for people we just don’t like, much less “enemies!” And I feel gormless quite frequently. Usually whenever I open my mouth and what I’m thinking comes out.

Leave a Reply

