Do We Expect God to Answer Prayer?

“Everyone is a genius at least once a year. The real geniuses simply have their bright ideas closer together.” – Georg C. Lichtenberg
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is zoogenic, which means, “produced or caused by animals.”

Today is Blueberry Cheesecake Day. I don’t know that I’ve ever had blueberry cheesecake. I’ve had strawberry cheesecake. I’ve had blueberry pancakes. Great. Now I’m hungry.

We had a very nice prayer gathering last night. There were five of us (seven if you count a couple of children, but I don’t think they prayed with us . . . you never know for sure, though, do you?), including our pastor, who shared a few words about prayer with us. We prayed for each other for a little while, which is always how we begin, and then we prayed over a prayer topic that I had written down. It was a very sweet time.

The Red Sox and Rangers both had really good games yesterday. The Sox beat the Rockies 10-3. Jackie Bradley, Jr. extended his hitting streak to 29, while Xander Bogaerts increased his hitting streak to 18 (I wasn’t even aware that he was streaking until yesterday). The Orioles lost again, so the Sox are now two games up, in first place! The Rangers and Angels had an afternoon slugfest. As the bottom of the second began, the Halos were up 4-1, but the Rangers tied it in that inning. The Rangers went up 7-4 in the bottom of the third, and were never behind again. Final score, 15-9. Sadly, the Mariners won, yet again, so the Rangers remain in second 1.5 out. Yu Darvish makes his return to the Ballpark on Saturday, against the Pirates.

Today is Thursday, pre-Friday. We have a long weekend coming up. It’s been a long time since New Year’s Day. I would still like to have a chat with the person who arranged all of the holidays in the last half of the year.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Make haste, O God, to deliver me! O LORD, make haste to help me!
Let them be put to shame and confusion who seek my life! Let them be turned back and brought to dishonor who delight in my hurt!
Let them turn back because of their shame who say, “Aha, Aha!”
May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you! May those who love your salvation say evermore, “God is great!”
But I am poor and needy; hasten to me, O God! You are my help and my deliverer; O LORD, do not delay!

Psalm 70

“Prayer breaks through the lethargies of spirit that would put off eternal things until eternity.” When we truly pray, there is urgency; things are important here and now. Our relationship with our Father is important now.

“Come Lord Jesus! I want to know the fullness of your salvation now. I give myself completely to your love. I want my entire mind and my whole will at your disposal today. Come quickly, Lord Jesus, to my waiting spirit. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Think as Jesus Taught

Pray without ceasing.
1 Thessalonians 5:17

How do we think about prayer? The answer to this depends on the conceptions we have about it in our minds. “if we think of prayer as the breath in our lungs and the blood from our hearts, we think rightly.” Our blood never stops flowing; our breathing doesn’t stop (as long as we live), we don’t have to be conscious of it, and we don’t have to make it happen. “Prayer is not an exercise, it is the life.”

Consider also the fact that “Jesus never mentioned unanswered prayer.” He just didn’t. “He had the boundless certainty that prayer is always answered.” Yes, we say, but he was Jesus. He is God. Of course he has certainty, and of course all of his prayers get answered. But who do we have holding us up? With whom do we walk, hopefully every day?? Jesus!!

“God answers prayer in the best way, not sometimes, but every time, although the immediate manifestations of the answer in the domain in which we want it may not always follow.” We also want to water down what Jesus says and make it mean something “in accordance with common sense.” If you’ve been following these, you know what Chambers thinks about “common sense.” He also says, “If it were only common sense, it was not worthwhile for Him to say it.” Jesus gave us supernatural revelation about prayer. It’s time for me to begin living in this.

Father, I pray for this type of thinking to dominate my mind, when it comes to prayer. I pray that my walk with Jesus, my walk in the kingdom would become so serious to the point that prayer would be like breathing, like the beating of my heart, that it would just happen, all day long, without me even having to think about it. Teach me to pray without ceasing.

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

One thought on “Do We Expect God to Answer Prayer?

Leave a Reply

