An Accumulation of Praise

“Don’t pray when it rains if you don’t pray when the sun shines.” – Satchel Paige
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is psychrophobia, which means “Fear or hatred of cold, esp. of cold water.”

Today is Hamburger Day. I might just have me one of those today!

I’m a little pressed for time, this morning. We are planning to leave for Scarborough Faire around noon. So I won’t spend a lot of time, here. Both the Red Sox and the Rangers lost, last night, the Sox to the Boo Jays, 7-5, in a back-and-forth contest. The Rangers lost badly to the Pirates, 9-1, in Cole Hamels’s first loss of the season. Both series continue today, with the much anticipated return of Yu Darvish in Arlington.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

O God, from my youth you have taught me, and I still proclaim your wondrous deeds.
So even to old age and gray hairs, O God, do not forsake me, until I proclaim your might to another generation, your power to all those to come.
Your righteousness, O God, reaches the high heavens. You who have done great things, O God, who is like you?
You who have made me see many troubles and calamities will revive me again; from the depths of the earth you will bring me up again.
You will increase my greatness and comfort me again.
I will also praise you with the harp for your faithfulness, O my God; I will sing praises to you with the lyre, O Holy One of Israel.
My lips will shout for joy, when I sing praises to you; my soul also, which you have redeemed.
And my tongue will talk of your righteous help all the day long, for they have been put to shame and disappointed who sought to do me hurt.

Psalm 71:17-24

“A long life accumulates material for praise.” I like that. And mine certainly has. So, maybe it hasn’t been truly a long life, yet. In fact, it seems to have gone by rather quickly, thus far. And, God willing, there are still a good number of years left. But it has certainly accumulated material for praise! And this accumulation can most certainly “be turned to the composition of convincing songs of praise.”

“As the days and years add up in me, O Lord, help me to grow in gratitude. As I grow older, give me a good memory for your acts of guidance and deliverance and a ready tongue for witness and praise. Amen.”

Father, as my life continues, may the accumulated material for praise continue to grow. I could type for the rest of the day, and not run out of things to praise you for, over the course of my 58 years. May your Spirit continue to remind me of how much I have to praise you for, and may that praise run over into other areas of my life. Help me to be more open to continuing this journey with friends. I don’t need to be so alone all the time. Help me to love people more.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

