Who Do You Trust?

“Never trust anything but the grace of God in yourself or in anyone else.”

“There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.” – Bertrand Russell
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is mugwump. We may be seeing the resurgence of this word, from the presidential campaign of 1884, as it means, “a person who is unable to make up his or her mind on an issue, especially in politics; a person who is neutral on a controversial issue.” And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

Today is Web Designer Day. If you know one, show them some love today, for making the Internet a nice place to be. Hey, it was either that or Macaroon Day.

Today is Tuesday that feels like Monday. We didn’t do much of anything, yesterday. I went on a grocery run, picked up some drinks and ordered pizza for lunch/dinner. We watched several episodes of Criminal Minds, and I played Fallout 4 (I got the Far Harbor expansion) for a few hours.

The Red Sox beat the O’s in a very important game, 7-2. this not only put them two games up but also gives them the best record in the AL, followed closely by the Texas Rangers, who beat the Indians 9-2. Seattle also won, so the Rangers remain a half game up on them. This is shaping up to be a fun season. I commented to my good friend who is the quintessential Texas Rangers fan, that it would be great fun to see a Red Sox/Rangers ALCS this year. If, by “fun,” you mean watching the game curled up in a fetal position, rocking back and forth. I kid, I kid. To my friend’s continued dismay, I would most certainly root for the Red Sox, but would be somewhat satisfied either way.

I’m going to a new doctor’s office, this afternoon. It’s time to get meds refilled. Nothing else wrong, as far as I know, other than my right knee which has been causing pain for a long time, now. C has been going to this new one, which is not far from where she works, and is about halfway home for me. So I’m going to try them today. We got out of sorts with our old doctor’s office when they stopped taking adult Medicaid, which forced us to find a new doctor for Stephanie. That was a difficult process, which is a topic for another day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Long may he live; may gold of Sheba be given to him! May prayer be made for him continually, and blessings invoked for him all the day!
May there be abundance of grain in the land; on the tops of the mountains may it wave; may its fruit be like Lebanon; and may people blossom in the cities like the grass of the field!
May his name endure forever, his fame continue as long as the sun! May people be blessed in him, all nations call him blessed!
Blessed be the LORD, the God of Israel, who alone does wondrous things.
Blessed be his glorious name forever; may the whole earth be filled with his glory! Amen and Amen!
The prayers of David, the son of Jesse, are ended.

Psalm 72:15-20

There is a strong conclusion to these prayers with the double amen at the end. “Amen is the Hebrew word for ‘yes,’ a yes that comes to its richest meaning in an affirmative response to God. We say yes to the God who says yes to us in Jesus Christ.”

“‘Praise ye the Lord! O let all that is in me adore Him! All that hath life and breath, come now with praises before Him! Let the Amen sound from his people again: gladly for aye we adore Him’ (Joachim Neander, ‘Praise to the Lord, the Almighty,’ translated by Catherine Winkworth). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

God First

But Jesus on his part did not entrust himself to them, because he knew all people and needed no one to bear witness about man, for he himself knew what was in man.
John 2:24-25

Jesus trusted no man, but at the same time, he was not suspicious, nor was he ever in despair about men, “because He put God first in trust; He trusted absolutely in what God’s grace could do for any man.” If I trust in people first, I will end up in despair, I will become bitter and cynical, “because I have insisted on man being what no man could ever be – absolutely right.”

“Never trust anything but the grace of God in yourself or in anyone else.”

Father, I pray for this to be true in me. This is such a good word for the political climate during this election, when so many of your children seem to be putting so much hope in men. It breaks my heart to see this. Where is their trust in you? I want to be able to say that I trust you implicitly, but there are still times when I am suspicious of people, and act in a cynical way toward them. I pray that you draw that out of me and replace it with the completeness of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, putting my trust in you completely and primarily.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Who Do You Trust?

Leave a Reply

