Panic or Inspiration?

“People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.” – Soren Kierkegaard
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is tickety-boo, which means, “fine; OK.” It is a chiefly British word, which doesn’t surprise me at all. I’m definitely going to work that into conversation today. Tickety-boo. Heh.

Today is Go Barefoot Day. WHY does this always have to come on a weekday?? I have to wear steel-toed shoes at my work, so going barefoot is most definitely not an option. I guess I’ll have to think more about Say Something Nice Day.

The midweek is already here. C continues her coughing and not feeling well. She will probably make a visit to the doctor’s office, today, if she doesn’t start feeling better. It needs to hurry and work through, because she’s supposed to leave on a work trip Friday morning.

Speaking of doctor, I went yesterday and had a physical at a new doctor’s office, and pretty much loved everything about it. I saw a nurse-practitioner, which is much better (in my somewhat ignorant opinion) than a “physician’s assistant.” He was great, and very . . . um . . . real? Does that make sense? Anyway, I like them, and will definitely continue going there.

The Red Sox beat the Orioles again, last night, 6-2, increasing their lead to three games up in first place, and continuing to have the best record in the American League. The Rangers beat the Indians again, 7-3, but gained no ground on the second place Mariners, who also won. But the Rangers continue to have the second best record in the American League. Good times.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Truly God is good to Israel, to those who are pure in heart.
But as for me, my feet had almost stumbled, my steps had nearly slipped.
For I was envious of the arrogant when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.

For they have no pangs until death; their bodies are fat and sleek.
They are not in trouble as others are; they are not stricken like the rest of mankind.
Therefore pride is their necklace; violence covers them as a garment.
Their eyes swell out through fatness; their hearts overflow with follies.
They scoff and speak with malice; loftily they threaten oppression.
They set their mouths against the heavens, and their tongue struts through the earth.

Psalm 73:1-9

When we see prosperity in the “wicked” it sets off all kinds of debates within our minds. “If wicked people prosper and good people suffer, why be good?” Admit it . . . you’ve asked that same question. I know I have. And bold people of Scripture do not hesitate to put that question to God. I believe one thing we can learn from the Psalms is that it is okay to ask God questions like this.

“Almighty God, I keep demanding fairness, forgetting that in Jesus the best this world ever knew suffered the worst it could plot. Lead me to the maturity that finds eternal life, not in handouts or prizes, but in sharing your life in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

The Staggering Question

“Son of man, can these bones live?”
Ezekiel 37:3

“Can that sinner be turned into a saint? Can that twisted life be put right?” The only true answer is “O Lord, Thou knowest, I don’t.” We trample in and make statements such as, “Oh, yes, with a little more bible reading and devotion and prayer, I see how it can be done.”

“It is much easier to do something than to trust in God; we mistake panic for inspiration.” These are such important words, because we area always engineering something to do when we ought to be still and listen. “We would far rather work for God than believe in Him.” Remember the definition of grace: It is God working in us to accomplish what we cannot accomplish on our own. But at the bottom line, we want to accomplish things on our own, don’t we? We don’t really want grace.

Has God given me a vision of what I would be like apart from grace? When this happens, we understand . . . “there is no criminal who is half so bad in actuality as you know yourself to be in possibility.” We really need to think about this. I realize the truth in this statement. We’ve all heard the phrase, “There, but for the grace of God, go I.” Usually we use it when we see homeless people, derelicts. But do we ever use it when we see people like Jared Fogle? Or do we say, I would NEVER do anything like that? Oh, really? I know the truth, and that is that there is, within me, the potential to be as horrible as any criminal this world has ever seen. In the words of Paul, in Romans 7, Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!

Father, I do, indeed thank you for the grace that you have shown in Christ Jesus! For I know that, were it not for your grace, I would be a terrible person, or at least the possibility is there. I guess I don’t really know what I would be without Jesus, do I? But I thank you for working in me to accomplish things that I cannot accomplish on my own. I pray that I would rather believe in you than work for you. Let me not make up stuff to do to compensate for a lack of belief in what you say. Let me always be listening and looking, to see what you are doing around me, that I might join and and do your work, taking on the “easy yoke” of Jesus Christ.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

