Sing In the Ordinary

“Joy is prayer; joy is strength: joy is love; joy is a net of love by which you can catch souls.” – Mother Teresa
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is metopomancy, “Divination by the (lines on the) forehead or face.”

Today is Hug Your Cat Day. Do be careful, however. Some cats do not like to be hugged.

Today will be primarily a resting day. I will go to the grocery store, and probably pick up some lunch, after I finish the blogging, but nothing much else will happen today. C is beginning, I believe to feel a little better, but needs to rest. Tomorrow and Monday will be busy. Tomorrow will be our worship gathering, followed by the visitation from 4-6 PM for her mother. I believe R & J will be coming over for lunch, and maybe hang out for a bit after the visitation . . . not sure about that last bit, because they will drive back home and come back Monday afternoon for the funeral. Then after the funeral, we will gather at C’s step-dad’s apartment for a while, and some of our wonderful church family will be providing some food. Actually, I believe C is trying to reserve the “community” room at the apartment for a couple hours Monday evening.

Then, unfortunately, it will be back to work on Tuesday. C has actually been given permission to work from home Tuesday, if she wants to.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

O God, why do you cast us off forever? Why does your anger smoke against the sheep of your pasture?
Remember your congregation, which you have purchased of old, which you have redeemed to be the tribe of your heritage! Remember Mount Zion, where you have dwelt.
Direct your steps to the perpetual ruins; the enemy has destroyed everything in the sanctuary!
Your foes have roared in the midst of your meeting place; they set up their own signs for signs.
They were like those who swing axes in a forest of trees.
And all its carved wood they broke down with hatchets and hammers.
They set your sanctuary on fire; they profaned the dwelling place of your name, bringing it down to the ground.
They said to themselves, “We will utterly subdue them”; they burned all the meeting places of God in the land.
We do not see our signs; there is no longer any prophet, and there is none among us who knows how long.
How long, O God, is the foe to scoff? Is the enemy to revile your name forever?
Why do you hold back your hand, your right hand? Take it from the fold of your garment and destroy them!

Psalm 74:1-11

“The experience of catastrophe sets off a prayer of intercession: the intercessor feels the effects of sin, the destroying powers of evil, and the necessity for God’s help. No hope of recovery seems likely unless God comes.”

“Almighty God, I place my concerns before you. The forces of evil seem overwhelming. Still, I know your power is mightier by far. Help me to direct my questions and anxieties, my fears and my despair to you, in whom all victories will be accomplished. Amen.”

This is an especially good prayer for this election year.

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

The Never-failing God

. . . for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”
Hebrews 13:5

When situations arise, where does my mind take me? “Does it turn to what God says or to what I fear?” God has said he will never leave nor forsake me. Not in my sin, not in my selfishness, not in my stubbornness, not in my waywardness. There is a popular philosophy that says sin separates us from God. Maybe “original sin” does, but once I have begun my journey with Christ, according to Romans 8, there is NOTHING that can separate me from the love of God in Christ Jesus. Not even my sin. Have I truly allowed God to say this to me?

What about when nothing extraordinary is happening? We get into thinking that God will do something amazing and exceptional. But what about when those things are not happening, when life is filled with drudgery? “Can I hear God’s say-so in these things?” The further we go in grace, the more we learn that “God is glorifying Himself here and now, in the present minute.” I can learn, in this, to “sing in the ordinary days and ways.”

Father, please do not let me fall for the temptation to wait for you to do something exceptional in my life. Let me see your glory in the ordinary things of every day life, the drudgery of life. You are glorifying yourself in all things. Let me see that, and in so doing, let me sing your praises in the ordinary.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Sing In the Ordinary

Leave a Reply

