God’s Say-So

“If you find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn’t lead anywhere.” – Frank A. Clark
Eduro.com

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is villatic, which means, “of or relating to the country or to a farm; rural.”

Today is Sausage Roll Day. I might actually have one of those, this morning!

The Red Sox beat the Boo Jays, last night, and the O’s lost, which put the Sox back in first place. However, the Sox are no longer the best team in the American League. That spot belongs to the Texas Rangers, who spanked the Mariners 10-4, last night, putting them two games up in first place, and the only team in the AL with at least a .600 W-L percentage. Both teams will complete their series today.

We’re getting ready for our worship gathering, this morning. We worship with The Exchange, which meets at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 N. Beach Street, in Fort Worth, TX.

After that, will be lunch, probably with R & J, and then the visitation for C’s mother, from 4-6, this evening.

Busy day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Yet God my King is from of old, working salvation in the midst of the earth.
You divided the sea by your might; you broke the heads of the sea monsters on the waters.

Psalm 74:12-13

God will eventually destroy all that is wrong and evil. But there is a purpose behind it, and that is for salvation. Just as builders raze an uninhabitable building in order to build places for people to live, “so God attacks chaos and wickedness in order to build a new heaven and a new earth.”

“Lord God of hosts, set my experience of present trouble firmly in the structure of your great acts of salvation. and then help me to believe that your way is being worked out even in the chaos of this world I live in, through Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

God’s Say-So

He has said . . . so we can confidently say . . .
Hebrews 13:5-6

This carries on from yesterday’s topic. “My say-so is to be built on God’s say-so.” God has told me that he will never leave me. Therefore, I can say, “The Lord is my helper, I will not fear.” I will be tempted to fear, but, hopefully, when that happens, I will remember “God’s say-so.” Many of us falter in faith when apprehension rears up. “The only way to get the dread taken out of us is to listen to God’s say-so.”

When trouble comes, and we can find no one to help, we must say, “The Lord is my helper, right in this moment.” The kingdom of God is here, now. “Are you learning to say things after listening to God, or are you saying things and trying to make God’s word fit in?” Listen to that question, friends, because that is a key error that a lot of Christians make. We take our ideas that we got from who knows where, and attempt to make God’s word support them or fit around them. This causes no small amount of trouble. We need to listen to God’s word and then say what agrees with it! See what the Father says, and then boldly proclaim, “I will not fear!” It doesn’t matter what kind of evil or trouble is coming your way. God has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you!”

This goes equally when we start focusing on how feeble or frail we are. Yes, I am weak. But he is strong. He will not fail me. He has promised. My say-so needs to echo his say-so.

Father, this truth is powerful. Let me listen to your say-so and make it my own. May the words that I proclaim be echoes of the words that you have said, for your words are the only ones that are perfectly true. You will never leave me nor forsake me. Therefore, I can boldly say that you are my helper, and I shall not fear.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

