God Is There, Even In the Kitchen

“Be faithful in small things because it is in them that your strength lies.” – Mother Teresa
(Eduro)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is heuristic, “encouraging a person to learn, discover, understand, or solve problems on his or her own, as by experimenting, evaluating possible answers or solutions, or by trial and error: a heuristic teaching method.”

Today is Donald Duck Day, marking his first appearance in a cartoon, 82 years ago. Happy birthday, Donald!

The Anchor prayer gathering went quite well, last night. At least I think it did. C agreed with me. There were a couple of people there who had not been there before, and the prayer time was good, as well as some good conversation about prayer topics. After the closing prayer, it was cool, as everyone just kind of sat there in silence for a moment.

It’s Thursday. I think. It’s been tough to remember what day it is, this week. This is my last day of work for the week, as I have jury duty tomorrow. It’s a city court, which I’ve never been to before, so this should be interesting. I’ve always been in the county court. Totally different building, different parking area. And I don’t have to be there until 9:30!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I will remember the deeds of the LORD; yes, I will remember your wonders of old.
I will ponder all your work, and meditate on your mighty deeds.
Your way, O God, is holy. What god is great like our God?
You are the God who works wonders; you have made known your might among the peoples.
You with your arm redeemed your people, the children of Jacob and Joseph. Selah.
When the waters saw you, O God, when the waters saw you, they were afraid; indeed, the deep trembled.
The clouds poured out water; the skies gave forth thunder; your arrows flashed on every side.
The crash of your thunder was in the whirlwind; your lightnings lighted up the world; the earth trembled and shook.
Your way was through the sea, your path through the great waters; yet your footprints were unseen.
You led your people like a flock by the hand of Moses and Aaron.

Psalm 77:11-20

The Psalmist (Asaph) has moved on from moaning and a fainting spirit. He is now meditating on the might deeds of the Lord, acknowledging the holiness of God, as well as the fact that there is no other god as great as our God! He then begins to recount some of those great and mighty deeds. He sees the reaction of nature to the very presence of God.

“O God of Exodus and Easter, I remember all I know of your love poured out in deliverance and resurrection. You rescue from sin and you raise to new life. You sustain and you lead. I praise you for your unending mercy and your untiring faithfulness. Amen.”

(From Daily Guideposts 2016)

And he said, “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”
Exodus 33:14

Pam Kidd writes about being afraid that she missed an opportunity to “go out and look for God in the springtime.” She had been busy with preparations for a gathering that she was hosting. Cooking projects were scattered around the kitchen; flowers needed arranging; floors needed cleaning. Her thinking was summed up in these two sentences: “But now it was too late. There was not time to go looking for God today.”

How many of us have felt this way? I’m in a hurry. It’s too late. I don’t have time to look for God. We are so foolish to be thinking these things. For one thing, Dallas Willard has said that we need to “ruthlessly eliminate hurry from our lives.” Eugene Peterson says that hurry is an act of violence on time.

What Pam Kidd discovered, as she worked on the preparations, was that God was there. as she arranged tulips in a vase, she experienced a stillness. “In that moment, then the next and the next, until the vases were filled and placed around the house, the Creator couldn’t be denied.” As she grated cheese in the kitchen, God was there with her. In everything she did for the rest of that day, she experienced the presence of God. She didn’t have to go outside and look for him in the woods. “He was here now in my kitchen . . . found.”

Yes. God is always there. This is one of the things that we fail so miserably at. We desperately need to recognize and acknowledge that the presence of God is always with us! This was the topic of one of my devotions a couple days ago, about “God’s Say-So.” Hebrews 13:5–“I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Father, my mind knows the truth of these verses. I have read them dozens of times. But the rest of my “parts” keeps forgetting that you are always there. Your presence is with me at all times, no matter what I’m doing or where I am. There have been times in my life when that truth should have actually terrified me. Today, it brings me peace. I almost look forward to the drive to work, and the subsequent work day, with this truth fresh on my mind. However, I beg you to make it fresh in my heart and soul throughout the rest of this day. When circumstances threaten to damage my calm, may the Spirit remind me . . . you are there.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

