I Have No Right to Judge

“All right everyone, line up alphabetically according to your height.” – Casey Stengel
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is tohubohu. Isn’t that a fun word? It means, “chaos; disorder; confusion.” I work in a place that, at times, seems to be overrun with tohubohu.

Tough choice today. Today is Onion Rings Day, but it’s also Chocolate Eclair Day. I present both, today, so you can make your own choice. Normally, I would choose anything with chocolate in it. But, for some reason, today, the onion rings sound better. Yes, even at 6:00 AM.

Not much to mention about yesterday. Work was fine, I felt pretty good, most of the day. We made soup in the crock pot for dinner. The Rangers lost to the Reds, ending their consecutive series win streak (this was a two game series, so they would have had to sweep to keep the streak going . . . #schedulemakerssmokingcrack)

Today is Wednesday. It’s the fourth Wednesday of June, so we have our Anchor prayer gathering tonight, at 7:00 PM. This means we pick something up on the way home, because we don’t have time to cook.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

LORD, you were favorable to your land; you restored the fortunes of Jacob.
You forgave the iniquity of your people; you covered all their sin. Selah.
You withdrew all your wrath; you turned from your hot anger.
Restore us again, O God of our salvation, and put away your indignation toward us!
Will you be angry with us forever? Will you prolong your anger to all generations?
Will you not revive us again, that your people may rejoice in you?
Show us your steadfast love, O LORD, and grant us your salvation.

Psalm 85:1-7

Time has an effect on “religion. The skeletal structure of obedience becomes arthritic, and the circulatory system of praise becomes sluggish.” The psalmist’s prayer, “Restore us again . . . revive us again,” moves toward keeping the body of Christ “youthful and responsive to every new mercy and grace in God.”

“O God, when my faith gets overladen with dust, blow it clean with the wind of your Spirit. When my habits of obedience get stiff and rusty, anoint them with the oil of your Spirit. Restore the enthusiasm of my first love for you and the alacrity of my first obedience to you, in Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

The Undeviating Test

For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you.
Matthew 7:2

This is not a popular verse of Scripture. And many people try to twist it to fit their own ideology, so they can cast judgment on groups that they hate. But this statement of Jesus is brutally honest and “an eternal law of God.” It is not retaliation, it is retribution. “If you have been shrewd in finding out the defects in others, remember that will be exactly the measure given to you. Life serves back in the coin you pay.”

Paul takes it even further in Romans 2 when he says that “the one who criticizes another is guilty of the very same thing.” But here, God is not necessarily looking at the act, he is looking at the possibility within us. I am well aware of what kinds of sins and crimes I am capable of. Much worse than what I have actually committed.

Do we truly believe the statements of the Bible? Do we believe that the things we criticize in others, we are guilty of ourselves? “The reason we see hypocrisy and fraud and unreality in others is because they are all in our own hearts.” Yes, they are there. Does it mean I have been guilty of them in actions? Not necessarily, but probably, at some point in my life. But the grace of God has worked in me to hold my flesh back from sin. “Therefore I have no right to judge.”

The real test . . . the “undeviating test . . .” Who among us would stand before God and say, “‘My God, judge me as I have judged my fellow men?’ We have judged our fellow men as sinners; if God should judge us like that we would be in hell.”

Thanks be to God for his marvelous gift!

O, my Father, how I still struggle with this sin! Not as much as I used to, but it still plagues me. While I don’t tend to “hate” groups of people any more, I still struggle with casting judgment on individuals. Father, strike this plague from my heart! Give me the love of Christ for all people. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth! Help me to put the words of Jesus into practice in my life.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

One thought on “I Have No Right to Judge

Leave a Reply

