Ample Leisure

“You can give without loving, but you can never love without giving.” – Robert Louis Stevenson
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com is encephalon, which means, simply, the brain.

Today is Global Beatles Day. “It was in the year 1960, on a foggy island found Nor-Norwest of Spain that music history changed forever.” Goo goo g’joob.

C is over at her step-dad’s this morning, helping them get the move going. The movers were supposed to be there around 8:30-9:00, I believe. At this point she’s not sure if she is going to the new place with them. She spent several hours over there helping pack, yesterday afternoon. I’ll be doing the grocery shopping after I finish this, and probably fold some laundry and stuff. Exciting, huh?

Last night’s baseball game between the Rangers and Red Sox was much more exciting than I expected. For most of the game, it was pretty much what I did expect, as the Rangers jumped all over David Price for seven runs in four innings. That would be all for the Rangers. Hanley Ramirez popped a two run home run in the fourth to get the Sox on the board. Jackie Bradley, Jr. went yard in the sixth for two runs. They went into the ninth inning with the score 7-4, Rangers. Then the unbelievable happened. JBJ walked. Bryce Brentz struck out. Travis Shaw popped out. Two down. Sandy Leon, pinch hitting, hit a double, scoring JBJ. 7-5. Pitching change. Matt Bush came in, and promptly gave up a two run home run, Mookie Betts batting. 7-7. Dustin Pedroia walked. Xander Bogart singled, sending Pedie to third. And then . . . Bush threw a wild pitch, Pedroia scored the go ahead run. 8-7 Red Sox. Ortiz hit a fly ball to Mazara, ending their half of the ninth. Koji Uehara came in and struck out the side in the bottom of the ninth. Red Sox win, 8-7.

Tonight, they play again, with knuckler Steven Wright going against A.J. Griffin, just activated off of the DL.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

On the holy mount stands the city he founded;
the LORD loves the gates of Zion more than all the dwelling places of Jacob.
Glorious things of you are spoken, O city of God. Selah.
Among those who know me I mention Rahab and Babylon; behold, Philistia and Tyre, with Cush— “This one was born there,” they say.
And of Zion it shall be said, “This one and that one were born in her”; for the Most High himself will establish her.
The LORD records as he registers the peoples, “This one was born there.” Selah.
Singers and dancers alike say, “All my springs are in you.”

Psalm 87

When we discover our origins and identity in the acts of God instead of those of our parents, we experience new birth. “We are much more apt to find out who we are in a place of worship than by examining a birth certificate or citizenship paper.”

“I celebrate my origins in you, O God. You fashioned me in love and destined me to eternal life. In all my words and acts may I reflect that love and demonstrate that life, both enjoying and glorifying your name, according to your plan in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Receiving One’s Self in the Fires of Sorrow

Now is my soul troubled. And what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? But for this purpose I have come to this hour. Father, glorify your name.” Then a voice came from heaven: “I have glorified it, and I will glorify it again.”
John 12:27-28

What is our attitude toward sorrow and difficulty in life? It should not be to seek that they be prevented (of course, neither should we seek sorrow out, intentionally), but that God would preserve the self that he has created us to be through the fires of sorrow. Jesus was not saved “from the hour, but out of the hour.”

We often claim that there should be no sorrow. But sorrow is. It is certainly one of the biggest facts of life. And we should not say that God has made a mistake by allowing it. The thing about sorrow and suffering is that they either give me my self or destroy it. “The way to find your self is in the fires of sorrow.”

“You always know the man who has been through the fires of sorrow and received himself, you are certain you can go to him in trouble and find that he has ample leisure for you.”

Father, have I found my self in these “fires of sorrow?” I can’t say for sure. But I pray for it to be so. Not for myself or for my own benefit, but more so I could be that one to whom others can go in their own trouble and find that I have ample leisure for them. I pray to be a benefit to the souls of others.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

