Pray Now

“You cannot make yourself feel something you do not feel, but you can make yourself do right in spite of your feelings.” ― Pearl S. Buck
(Goodreads)

The word of the day, from Merriam-Webster, is jactitation, which means, “a tossing to and fro or jerking and twitching of the body.” One of those words that means what it sounds like.

Today is Log Cabin Day. What I wouldn’t give to be sitting on the porch of one of those, right now, drinking my coffee, and gazing out at a misty morning lake.

C and company got her step-dad moved successfully, yesterday. She’s in a bit of pain, though, but feeling better this morning than she expected to be. For the most part, it went pretty well. The new place is a bit smaller, however, than the old one, so they aren’t sure they can keep all the furniture.

The Rangers spanked the Red Sox last night, 10-3. In one inning, the Sox kind of spanked themselves, making at least two errors, resulting in a five run inning. Today is the “rubber match” of the series, starting at 12:35 PM.

We’re getting ready for our worship gathering, this morning, which happens at 10:15 AM. We are The Exchange, and we meet at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 North Beach Street in Fort Worth, Texas.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

O LORD, God of my salvation; I cry out day and night before you.
Let my prayer come before you; incline your ear to my cry!
For my soul is full of troubles, and my life draws near to Sheol.
I am counted among those who go down to the pit; I am a man who has no strength,
like one set loose among the dead, like the slain that lie in the grave, like those whom you remember no more, for they are cut off from your hand.
You have put me in the depths of the pit, in the regions dark and deep.
Your wrath lies heavy upon me, and you overwhelm me with all your waves. Selah.
You have caused my companions to shun me; you have made me a horror to them. I am shut in so that I cannot escape;
my eye grows dim through sorrow. Every day I call upon you, O LORD; I spread out my hands to you.
Do you work wonders for the dead? Do the departed rise up to praise you? Selah.
Is your steadfast love declared in the grave, or your faithfulness in Abaddon?
Are your wonders known in the darkness, or your righteousness in the land of forgetfulness?
But I, O LORD, cry to you; in the morning my prayer comes before you.
O LORD, why do you cast my soul away? Why do you hide your face from me?
Afflicted and close to death from my youth up, I suffer your terrors; I am helpless.
Your wrath has swept over me; your dreadful assaults destroy me.
They surround me like a flood all day long; they close in on me together.
You have caused my beloved and my friend to shun me; my companions have become darkness.

Psalm 88

There are two images that vividly describe what the Psalmist is feeling. First, there is an image of being buried alive (“You have put me in the depths of the pit”). Second, that of drowning (“you overwhelm me with all of your waves”). “The grave, whether in cold earth or deep waters, tells the story of extreme trouble.” The name of the Lord is repeated multiple times, because there is no trouble on earth that can take away our ability or power to pray.

“Dear Jesus, you were tested at every point that I can be. Lead me through the times of testing, defend me against despair and guide me into the place where my prayers for help will be changed into shouts of praise. Amen.”

Father, give me grace to know that you are with me at all times. I have been experiencing this, somewhat, during the past week, but it takes work. And sometimes I fall short of that work. But your grace, you working in me to accomplish what I cannot accomplish by myself, will hold me up. Help us to always remember that we know the end of the story. Nothing can stop us from praying unless we let it. And remind me, when troubles come, when things threaten to upset me, I don’t have to wait until later to pray. I can pray now! I can always pray now!

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Pray Now

Leave a Reply

