Steadfast Love and Faithfulness

“To be a Christian without prayer is no more possible than to be alive without breathing.” – Martin Luther
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is transmogrify. Yes, that’s really a word. I seriously thought Calvin made it up! It means “to change in appearance or form, especially strangely or grotesquely; transform.” Here’s a quote from Don Quixote, written in 1755: “How strangely can that miscreant enchanter, who is my enemy, transmogrify things to thwart me? Know, Sancho, that it is a very easy matter for necromancers to make us assume what shapes they please; and the malicious wretch who persecutes me, envying the glory I should have gained in this battle, hath doubtless metamorphosed the squadrons of the foe, into flocks of sheep …”

Today is Please Take My Children To Work Day. Hahahaha! I got a good laugh out of this one!

We had a pretty good day, yesterday. Our worship gathering went really well, I believe. I had a good time playing, even though one of these songs was brand new to me, and another one, I hadn’t played in a very long time. The pastor’s message on prayer was a good one, as well. It was all about trusting God with our prayers.

C didn’t do much of anything, other than rest, which is good. We watched some TV, then some baseball. C went to take a nap, and I fired up the PS4 and played The Evil Within. I finished Until Dawn on Saturday. Very interesting game, and I probably should play it again, someday, and see if I can get a different ending.

It’s Monday again. I have band practice tonight, the last practice of the summer. Our July 3 concert is this coming Sunday night. I will link to it tomorrow. The power just flickered, which shut off my computer, and I had to wait for it to reboot. Now I’m a bit behind, so I need to get on to the devotional.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I will sing of the steadfast love of the LORD, forever; with my mouth I will make known your faithfulness to all generations.
For I said, “Steadfast love will be built up forever; in the heavens you will establish your faithfulness.”
You have said, “I have made a covenant with my chosen one; I have sworn to David my servant:
‘I will establish your offspring forever, and build your throne for all generations.'” Selah.

Psalm 89:1-4

“Steadfast love” and “faithfulness” — what two better phrases/words to be the central focus of a song? This is “God’s relationship with his creation.”

“O God, within the sometimes puzzling experiences of this pilgrimage, I will gratefully sing of your steadfast love and your faithfulness which, despite my stuttering steps and recurrent doubt, steadily develop a redeeming purpose in my life. Amen.”

Father, as I go through this day, may I be constantly aware of your steadfast love and your faithfulness. May they be the driving forces of my life today.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Steadfast Love and Faithfulness

  1. I’m glad you talk about watching some TV and playing some video games, because sometimes I get the impression that “real” Christians wouldn’t do those things (and I do).

    1. I appreciate that! I always try to be “real,” I guess, which is why I put up stuff like holidays and words of the day before getting down to the serious stuff. “All work and no play makes Jack (or Jeff) a dull boy!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

