Cut It Off

“Life is 10 percent what you make it, and 90 percent how you take it.” – Irving Berlin
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is supererogatory. That’s a mouthful! It means, “going beyond the requirements of duty,” or, “greater than that required or needed; superfluous.” Not exactly the opposite of derogatory.

Today is Camera Day. So get out there and take some pictures today. I wish I could take some at work, but we aren’t allowed. Secret guv-ment stuff, you.

So, obviously, the power is back on. It was off from just after 6:00 PM Monday evening until just before 8:00 AM Tuesday morning. So fourteen hours! The transformer had failed, and they had to replace it. For reasons unknown, though, the crew didn’t show up to do that until around 6:00 AM. None of us slept very well Monday night. For one thing, it was warm in the house. But we also sleep with a fan on, for steady noise. So it was also very quiet in the house. And I sleep with a C-Pap machine, because I have Sleep Apnea. So, no power, no machine. My Fitbit said I slept for 5.5 hours, and wasn’t awake during any of that. I disagree. I know I was awake during that, because I called the Oncor outage line every time I woke up and I called them at least five times during the night. The message never changed. They were unable to give an estimated time . . . I’m guessing I slept four hours, at best.

As a result, we weren’t very alert at work, yesterday. I almost didn’t go, but I didn’t want to waste PTO. I almost fell asleep at my desk several times, and driving home from work was a bit of a struggle. But all is well, this morning. We went to bed at about 7:30 (haha!), and were asleep by 8:30. My Fitbit says I slept eight hours and 39 minutes.

It’s Wednesday, right?

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Of old you spoke in a vision to your godly one, and said: “I have granted help to one who is mighty; I have exalted one chosen from the people.
I have found David, my servant; with my holy oil I have anointed him,
so that my hand shall be established with him; my arm also shall strengthen him.
The enemy shall not outwit him; the wicked shall not humble him.
I will crush his foes before him and strike down those who hate him.
My faithfulness and my steadfast love shall be with him, and in my name shall his horn be exalted.
I will set his hand on the sea and his right hand on the rivers.
He shall cry to me, ‘You are my Father, my God, and the Rock of my salvation.’
And I will make him the firstborn, the highest of the kings of the earth.
My steadfast love I will keep for him forever, and my covenant will stand firm for him.
I will establish his offspring forever and his throne as the days of the heavens.
If his children forsake my law and do not walk according to my rules,
if they violate my statutes and do not keep my commandments,
then I will punish their transgression with the rod and their iniquity with stripes,
but I will not remove from him my steadfast love or be false to my faithfulness.
I will not violate my covenant or alter the word that went forth from my lips.
Once for all I have sworn by my holiness; I will not lie to David.
His offspring shall endure forever, his throne as long as the sun before me.
Like the moon it shall be established forever, a faithful witness in the skies.” Selah.

Psalm 89:19-37

Have you ever thought that God “changed his mind” about you, because your circumstances changed? The witness of Israel is that there is “no fickleness or inconsistency in God.” We may not understand everything about God, but that doesn’t mean he is unworthy of our trust.

“Thank you, Father, for the reassuring witness of the generations of believers that there is no hesitation in your will, no deceit in your promises, and no flaws in your covenant commitments. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Direction of Discipline

And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away. For it is better that you lose one of your members than that your whole body go into hell.
Matthew 5:30

Jesus didn’t say that everyone has to cut of his right hand. He did say that if it causes you problems in your walk with him, cut it off. “There are many things that are perfectly legitimate, but if you are going to concentrate on God you cannot do them.” I believe that Chambers has captured the meaning perfectly.

I’ve never believed that Jesus literally wanted us to cut off body parts. But I believe that the quote from Chambers nails it. We may find, no, we most definitely will find, that Jesus will keep us from doing things that are “perfectly right for everyone else,” but not for us. But we must be careful. We dare not use our “limitations to criticize someone else.” In other words, just because you see someone doing something that God has convicted you that you should not do, do not judge them for doing that very thing. Classic examples have to do with alcohol consumption and what types of movies Christians should watch or not watch.

God deals with me, and he deals with others. I have no right nor reason to judge that in someone else.

Father, as I move in the direction of discipline, I pray that you show me those things that need to be “cut off” in order to fully concentrate on you. But do not allow me to judge others who may not have been similarly convicted. It is no business of mine how you deal with my brothers and sisters.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

