The Vision

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” – Jesus Christ
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is skerrick, an Australian word meaning, “a small piece or quantity; a bit: Not even a skerrick of cake was left.

Today is International Kissing Day. Sounds like fun. I think this should be a real holiday.

Yesterday wasn’t bad for a Mon Tuesday. Tuesday that acted like Monday. The drive to work was easy, as it seems a lot of people did not, in fact, go to work, yesterday morning. However, they must have arrived there at some point, because there were about ten times as many people going home as there were going to work. I am never quite able to grasp that. There was one significant issue, however. There were, apparently, power lines on the road at Hwy 121 and Grapevine Mills Pkwy, which had the road closed. When I encountered the back up from that situation, I turned on my GPS, which had me make an immediate u-turn and go a totally different way. Including my brief stop at Sonic, it took me two hours and fifteen minutes to get home, last night.

The Rangers beat the Red Sox 7-2, which put the Sox in third place behind the Boo Jays. Sad face. The Rangers are still flirting with the best record in MLB, but are three percentage points behind the Cubbies.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Return, O LORD! How long? Have pity on your servants!
Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.
Make us glad for as many days as you have afflicted us, and for as many years as we have seen evil.
Let your work be shown to your servants, and your glorious power to their children.
Let the favor of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands upon us; yes, establish the work of our hands!
Psalm 90:13-17

“The slow-burning fuse of meditation reaches the powder of prayer and detonates the explosive question: ‘How long?’ Eight petitions are put before God. Then, as the petitions mature, there is rejoicing, gladness, and a virile enthusiasm for work.”

“Not by increasing the tempo of my life, O Lord, or trying to add extra years to it, but by sinking the life that I have–this hour, this day–into your will and in your presence, may I find my hope and my blessing. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Vision and Reality

. . . the burning sand shall become a pool . . . Isaiah 35:7

Have you ever had a vision? I don’t mean “vision” as in some kind of mystical picture of something that you see in a dream state. I mean more of a symbolic picture of what God wants you to be, to accomplish, in your future.

What happens is, when we have this vision, and then we realize that it’s not quite real, our enemy comes and brings temptations and, if we are not locked into the truth of God, we can give up. But, “God gives us the vision, then He takes us down to the valley to batter us into the shape of the vision, and it is in the valley that so many of us faint and give way.” It will become reality if we have patience. “Think of the enormous leisure of God! He is never in a hurry.”

Do we fully realize that?? God is never in a hurry!! I think Dallas Willard realized that, when he told John Ortberg to “relentlessly eliminate hurry from your life.” Eugene Peterson said, on Twitter, “Hurry is a form of violence practiced on time.” If we would all realize the truth that God is never in a hurry, we would also cease our frantic hurrying and be patient with God.

When we have a vision, it truly is a picture of what God wants for us, and if we will allow him to, he will make it so. And we should not be satisfied with anything less. “If you have ever had the vision of God, you may try as you like to be satisfied on a lower level, but God will never let you.”

Father, never allow me to be satisfied with less than your vision for my life. There have been visions along the way, and I confess that I have allowed some of them to fall by the wayside. I need reminding, Lord. Restore your vision to my heart. Show me what you want me to be for you, and then make me that picture. Give me the patience to wait while you shape me, to endure while you take me through the valley. Then bring the reality home. I trust in you, Father. “Be thou my vision.”

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

