You Are My All in All

“There is nothing more likely to start disagreement among people or countries than an agreement.” – E. B. White
(BrainyQuote)

The word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is vox populi. I know. That’s two words. It means, literally, “the voice of the people,” and also means, “popular opinion.”

Besides being French Fries Day, today is also Embrace Your Geekness Day. So go ahead. Let your inner geek come out and play!

The first night without C was a mixed bag. I didn’t get finished cleaning up the study, but I made some good progress. I made some room in the filing cabinet, but now I have a couple of stacks of files on the breakfast table. I plan to move those tomorrow. Not tonight, because we have our Anchor Prayer gathering tonight. I think we still have another file cabinet out in the garage. If we don’t have that any more, I’m going to have to get a box somewhere. The majority of the files are from back when S was in school, and were dealing with the ISD over her autism. Then, I realized we had tax files in this file cabinet from as far back as 1998. I don’t think you need twenty years of tax files. Ugh. Anyway, I’ll get finished in here, either tomorrow night or over the weekend. I should have realized it would take longer than I expected. I even emptied the shredder twice. And it’s almost full again!

I didn’t sleep very well, as expected. My Fitbit says I was restless 14 times. I got up and got the animals fed and all that stuff. C arrived safely in Indianapolis, and we talked for a few minutes at around 7:30. She had found her hotel and was about to get some food. She doesn’t have to be at the bowling center until 9:00 this morning (8:00 in our time), so that’s not too bad. When they go to the convention, she usually has to start doing stuff by 6:00 AM, and since the convention was in Nevada, that’s 4:00 AM CDT!

So today is Wednesday, and, as mentioned, we will have our Anchor Prayer Gathering tonight at 7:00. I’m looking forward to it.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

The righteous flourish like the palm tree and grow like a cedar in Lebanon.
They are planted in the house of the LORD; they flourish in the courts of our God.
They still bear fruit in old age; they are ever full of sap and green,
to declare that the LORD is upright; he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him.
Psalm 92:12-15

“The life of faith does not deteriorate or wear out.” What a simple, yet profound statement! The longer we praise and worship our God, the stronger we get! In contrast to a lot of other things in life, our praise of God should reach its peak in our later years.

“O God, as I receive new energy each day from you, may there be juices of love and hope flowing through my veins, bringing fruits of righteousness to my praising and loving, through Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

The Price of Vision

In the year that King Uzziah died I saw the Lord . . . Isaiah 6:1

There are many times in our lives when God has to remove someone important to us and put himself in their place. How many times have we experienced, not so much the loss of a close friend, but their moving away, or simply drifting away, to the point that we no longer see them regularly, if at all? Uzziah was very important to Isaiah. He was one of the good kings. And in the year that he died, what happened? Did Isaiah give up and quit? No! He saw the Lord, high and lifted up!

“My vision of God depends upon the state of my character.” This is important, because, until we are firmly walking in his Kingdom, we “see” God only in line with our prejudices.

And all of these popular phrases about the place of God in our lives . . . “I am second,” and so on . . . “It must be God first, God second, and God third, until the life is faced steadily with God and no one else is of any account whatever.” It sounds cold, and it doesn’t mean that we ignore important people in our lives. But they cannot take the place of God in our hearts and lives. He must be all that there is to us. He must be our all in all.

Father, be all in my life. Do not let me allow others to take your place in my life. Yes, I will love my family, and I will love my friends, and I will love my neighbors as myself, but may I never allow any of them to take the place in my life that you and only you should occupy. Be my all in all.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

