I Will Not Forget You

Today is Monday, July 18, 2016.

“Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off your goal.” – Henry Ford
(BrainyQuote)
What I like about this quote is that it can be applied to our walk with Christ. If we take our eyes off of him, as Peter did, while he was walking on the water, we begin to see the obstacles around us. Then we start sinking, because our eyes are on the obstacles, rather than on the “Goal.” And the key is most certainly this. The goal is not better living, more prayer, more Bible study, or more compassion. The goal is Christ, himself.

I apologize for getting “preachy” above the double lines.

The word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is powldoody. This is “a variety of Irish oyster, eaten as a delicacy.”

Today is Get Out of the Doghouse Day. This is the day to make it right, whatever you’re in trouble for.

C comes back tonight! C comes back tonight! I’m pretty sure this is the longest she has ever been away from home, without us or me being with her. I have to say that S has been stellar, this whole time, nary caused a problem at all. C should be leaving Indianapolis around 4:00-ish, which is 3:00-ish here. I’m hoping she gets home before 9:00 tonight. It might be earlier, but I’m not holding my breath.

We’re going to start getting our fence fixed this week. Two sides need to be replaced. The other side was replaced by our neighbor, last year. It’s going to be a busy and expensive summer. We’re getting a new pool heater next Saturday, the fence should be getting repaired this week, and the leak in the pool is getting repaired next week.

I’m really looking forward to that vacation in October.

The Rangers lost two out of three to the Cubs, over the weekend, finally winning one yesterday afternoon. They are still 4.5 games up in first place. The Red Sox won two out of three against the Evil Ones. They are currently two games back of the Orioles, in second place.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!
Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!
For the LORD is a great God, and a great King above all gods.
In his hand are the depths of the earth; the heights of the mountains are his also.
The sea is his, for he made it, and his hands formed the dry land.
Psalm 95:1-5

“God is the reason for worship. The awesome power of God makes it sure that we shall worship; the graciousness of his will makes it certain that our worship shall be glad.”

“I praise your great name, O God. Every song I sing of your power and love, of your grace and glory, discovers fresh reasons for singing another. All praise to Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Amen.”

This is such a celebratory reading that I had to stop here for a few minutes, today. It reminded me of Saturday night’s worship time at B’s house. He led most of the music, and watching his face as he sang . . . it exemplified this passage from Psalms. We sang this one song, “I Will Not Forget You,” by Enter the Worship Circle. I’m going to post the video for the song below this. To watch people from all walks of life dancing before the Lord, “a wild dance I dance before You,” is very moving. When we worship God, it won’t always be celebratory, as evidenced by the final scene of the video. But much of the time, it most certainly can, and should, be. We have much to celebrate. Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving and make a joyful noise before him with songs of praise!

Father, may I remember this as I work today. Let my day be full of your praise and may it be full of prayer without ceasing. No matter what I face today, no matter who tries to “push my buttons,” may my countenance be full of joy, and may my heart be full of praise to you. May I not take my eyes off of my goal. May I not focus on the obstacles.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

One thought on “I Will Not Forget You

Leave a Reply

