Reason to Rejoice

Today is Friday, July 22, 2016.

Quote of the Day

“Love will find a way through paths where wolves fear to prey.” – Lord Byron

Word of the Day

Pugnacious–” Eager or quick to quarrel or fight; given to fighting or arguing; belligerent, contentious.”

Today is Hammock Day. I wish I could stay home and spend the day in a hammock. Actually, I wish I could go to an island somewhere and spend the day in a hammock. It’s too hot here.

C is still not well, but something different is going on. She left work early, yesterday, thinking she had some kind of stomach bug. At this point, we’re not sure what is going on, as she has been having horrific gas buildup, to the point that she has trouble breathing. It’s still not good this morning, so she’s staying home from work. I’m hoping that she’ll get to a doctor today, if it doesn’t get better.

In other news, the Red Sox continued their winning roll last night, beating the Twins 13-2, behind Steven Wright’s knuckleballs. The final two runs came on this smash by David Ortiz, as the pitcher served up what has to have been the fattest pitch I’ve ever seen.

http://m.redsox.mlb.com/bos/video/v953608283/minbos-papi-smashes-a-tworun-homer-in-the-8th/?affiliateId=clubMEGAMENU

Baltimore beat the Yankees, so the Sox remain a half game up, in first place. They continue their series against Twins tonight. The Rangers were off, yesterday, and play the Royals tonight, Kansas City. The Astros were off, too, so the Rangers remain 3.5 games up, in first place.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

O you who love the LORD, hate evil! He preserves the lives of his saints; he delivers them from the hand of the wicked.
Light is sown for the righteous, and joy for the upright in heart.
Rejoice in the LORD, O you righteous, and give thanks to his holy name!
Psalm 97:10-12

When we walk in God’s Kingdom, under his rule, we are able to not only fulfill his will, but our own, as well. “We find wholeness in becoming what we were intended in creation.” This, in turn, gives us reason and causes us to rejoice.

“‘Rivers to the ocean run, not stay in all their course; fire ascending seeks the sun; both speed them to their source; so my soul, derived from God, longs to view His glorious face, forward tends to His abode, to rest in His embrace’ (Robert Seagrave, ‘Rise, My Soul, and Stretch Thy Wings’). Amen.”

Father, I am struggling with this joy, this morning. Show me the many reasons I have to rejoice, especially the fact that I am in your Kingdom, under your rule, and I joyfully remain there. As I drive to work this morning, I pray for your joy to envelope me and your peace to fall on me. I also pray that you would bring healing to C’s body, today. Bring her peace, that she might get some much-needed rest.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Reason to Rejoice

Leave a Reply

