I Will Sing

Today is Tuesday, July 26, 2016.

Quote of the Day

“Imagination and fiction make up more than three quarters of our real life.” – Simone Weil

Word of the Day

Pidgin – a simplified speech used for communication between people with different languages. One example of this would be Hawaiian Pidgin English. The word “choke” means “plentiful.” “Dis restaurant give choke amounts of food.” “Try” means “please.” If you’re getting impatient, one might ask you to “try wait.” There’s a whole vocabulary.

Right on the heels of Cousins Day, today is Aunt and Uncle Day. I don’t have very many of those left. Well, I only ever had three blood aunts/uncles, to begin with. There were a lot of great aunts and uncles. I have one uncle and his wife, whom I always called “aunt,” and then I think I have another aunt-by-marriage left in Louisiana. I’m not sure about the “great” ones . . . I think there might be one left. My mother will know.

C continues to feel better, which is good. S has been complaining of headaches, for a while, though. I can’t help but feel like it has something to do with diet and sleep habits, though, as her sleep pattern is all out of whack.

The pool heater installation did not happen yesterday. The guy got tied up in something else (not literally), and will be here this morning. And the fence is almost done. The trash is hauled off, and we just need the gate to be completed.

The Rangers had a comeback win over the Athletics, last night, winning 7-6. They have now won three in a row. The Astros lost, so they gained a game in their division. The Sox, however, lost to the Tigers 4-2. Close game, with pretty good pitching on both sides.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

A Psalm of David. I will sing of steadfast love and justice; to you, O LORD, I will make music.
I will ponder the way that is blameless. Oh when will you come to me? I will walk with integrity of heart within my house;
I will not set before my eyes anything that is worthless. I hate the work of those who fall away; it shall not cling to me.
A perverse heart shall be far from me; I will know nothing of evil.
Whoever slanders his neighbor secretly I will destroy. Whoever has a haughty look and an arrogant heart I will not endure.
I will look with favor on the faithful in the land, that they may dwell with me; he who walks in the way that is blameless shall minister to me.
No one who practices deceit shall dwell in my house; no one who utters lies shall continue before my eyes.
Morning by morning I will destroy all the wicked in the land, cutting off all the evildoers from the city of the LORD.
Psalm 101

“The Christian who sings of moral convictions and loyal determination in personal (vv. 1-4) and professional (vv. 5-8) relationships finds that the song puts steel into every resolve to do a difficult job well to the glory of God.”

“Father, you have given me work to do: give me also the ethical stamina to do it right. No work will be a burden as long as I know I am sharing your will; no task will be demeaning when I know that I am participating in your ways. For Jesus’ sake. Amen.”

“When it comes to a question of our forgiving other people, it is partly the same and partly different. It is the same because, here also, forgiving does not mean excusing. Many people seem to think it does. They think that if you ask them to forgive someone who has cheated or bullied them you are trying to make out that there was really no cheating or no bullying. But if that were so, there would be nothing to forgive. They keep on replying, “But I tell you the man broke a most solemn promise.” Exactly: that is precisely what you have to forgive. (This doesn’t mean that you must necessarily believe his next promise. It does mean that you must make every effort to kill every taste of resentment in your own heart—every wish to humiliate or hurt him or to pay him out.) The difference between this situation and the one in which you are asking God’s forgiveness is this. In our own case we accept excuses too easily; in other people’s we do not accept them easily enough.” – C.S. Lewis, from The Weight of Glory

Father, let me sing of those convictions today, as I work, and as I interact with other people on a personal level. Let me practice the kind of forgiveness (as if I have anything to forgive, right now) that Lewis speaks of. But this includes resentment toward anyone for any reason, as well. I pray for peace toward all people in my heart. And keep driving me to do the best job possible in all circumstances, to the glory of your name!

Come, Lord, Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

