Depend Upon Him Now

Today is Thursday, July 28, 2016. Pre-Friday!

Quote of the Day

“Blessed is the man, who having nothing to say, abstains from giving wordy evidence of the fact.” – George Eliot

Word of the Day

Numinous – 1 : supernatural, mysterious; 2 : filled with a sense of the presence of divinity : holy; 3 : appealing to the higher emotions or to the aesthetic sense : spiritual. “Pilgrims to the shrine spoke to the congregation about their numinous experiences.”

Today is Milk Chocolate Day. While I prefer dark chocolate over milk chocolate, still . . . chocolate!! So, yeah.

So the brand new pool heater has a leak in it. The good news, is, though, that the part that is leaking is replaceable. So the technician said he would call the manufacturer and get them to send him a new part. At this point, we don’t have a time line. The fence isn’t finished, either. They may have taken a night off. Perhaps they even went to church. Some folks still do that on Wednesday night. We sort of had “church.” There were four of us at the prayer gathering last night, and it was a good time of fellowship and prayer. And all of the fellowship was centered around prayer requests.

Again, both the Red Sox and Rangers lost, last night. Rangers lost 6-4 after giving up four runs in the eighth inning. Red Sox lost 4-3 after giving up a home run to Miggy in the top of the ninth. Fortunately for the Sox, both Baltimore and Toronto also lost. Unfortunately for the Rangers, the Astros did not lose. But they are still in first place, 2.5 games up.

We have a Pastoral Assist Team meeting this Sunday, and guess where we are going to have it? Never mind . . . you would never guess! Pancho’s!!! That’s right, a new Pancho’s Mexican Buffet has opened up, just minutes from our house! Who knew they were even still a thing?? I’m excited. I love Pancho’s!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Let this be recorded for a generation to come, so that a people yet to be created may praise the LORD:
that he looked down from his holy height; from heaven the LORD looked at the earth,
to hear the groans of the prisoners, to set free those who were doomed to die,
that they may declare in Zion the name of the LORD, and in Jerusalem his praise,
when peoples gather together, and kingdoms, to worship the LORD.
Psalm 102:18-22

In spite of the troubles listed in the previous passage, hope springs up, for “a people yet to be created.” Yes, pain and sorrow are certain in this life, but even more so are praise and salvation. “If the results of sin are inevitable, the consequences of grace are irresistible.”

“Lord God, I survey the ruins around me–broken promises, plotted malice, failed love–and I am brought low. Then I review the expectations of faith–the visitation of your spirit, the deliverance by the Messiah, the praising worship of the redeemed–and I am lifted up. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

After Obedience–What?

Immediately he made his disciples get into the boat and go before him to the other side . . . Mark 6:45

I’ll say right off the bat that I don’t necessarily agree with everything in this reading, but there is, I think, some good truth within. And that truth does involve our tendency to think that if we obey Jesus, “He will lead us to great success.” I suppose that, as humans, it is difficult, if not impossible, to have some ulterior motive for following Christ. But, “We must never put our dreams of success as God’s purpose for us; His purpose may be exactly the opposite.” I dreamed, for years, of being a professional musician, but it never happened. I could blame my lack of motivation, which certainly may have had something to do with it. But it is entirely possible that this was not God’s plan for me. I’m not wise enough to know for certain. It is also entirely possible that God is not leading us, individually, to a “particular end, a desired goal.”

“His purpose is that I depend on Him, and on His power now. If I can stay in the middle of the turmoil calm and unperplexed, that is the end of the purpose of God.” While I don’t necessarily disagree with the sentiment, there, I think Scripture says otherwise. I do believe that there is a future purpose that God has for us, but it includes what Chambers speaks of, here. I believe that purpose is to become more like Christ, and walk in the kind of life that Jesus walked. This requires, though, for us to depend upon God now. And if we look to longingly toward that future, we fail to pay attention to what is happening now. So I think a healthy balance of both is in order for us. We need to be sure that we are walking in his Kingdom now so that we can be ready to walk in it for eternity.

Father, I pray again for this kind of obedience in my life. I pray that I might be more focused on what is now than what is to come. I know what your will for my life is. It does not include my dreams. It does not include what I think might be really cool to do. What it does include is that I be more like Christ and walk in his way. Train me to succeed in this, Father, as it is truly the only thing that matters.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

