Remember

Today is Saturday, July 30, 2016. I’ve been corrected . . . the trade deadline is Monday, since the 31st falls on Sunday, this year.

Quote of the Day

“The word ‘happiness’ would lose its meaning if it were not balanced by sadness.” – Carl Jung

Word of the Day

Littoral – of, relating to, or situated or growing on or near a shore especially of the sea. So I guess it could be possible to be “literally littoral.”

Today is Paperback Book Day. Do I even need to say anything more? Here is one blogger/artist’s representation of Paperback Book Day . Please note that the books in the picture are miniatures. Amazing work!

Yesterday, while driving home, I was playing my iTunes music on shuffle, and this song came up.

As I listened to the lyrics, I realized that, outside of the fact that Rich had 4 brothers and sisters, and his dad was a farmer, this song relates to me and my family. These lyrics spoke most clearly to me:

“Never picture perfect
Just a plain man and his wife
Who somehow knew the value
Of hard work, good love, and real life”

“And they worked to give faith hands and feet
And somehow gave it wings”

We miss my dad terribly, still, but this is the legacy that my parents gave me. And for that, I am eternally grateful to both them, and our Father in heaven.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Of David. Bless the LORD, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name!
Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits,
who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases,
who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy,
who satisfies you with good so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.
Psalm 103:1-5

“Forgetfulness atrophies the muscles of praise and leaves them flabby and passive. Remembrance internalizes a history of grace and strengthens praise into blessing, so that we act in a renewing way on our environment.”

“What blessings I have experienced! What benefits I have been given! I will compile my own list of goodness through the hours of this day and give you praise, O God, for each item. Stir my memory and quicken my tongue, for Jesus’ sake. Amen.”

Father, help me to remember. Don’t allow my muscles of praise to atrophy! Help me to internalize the history of grace that has gone before me. What a history it is! I thank you, my Father, for the “plain man and his wife” who raised me to love you, worship you, and serve you. I pray that I will never disappoint them.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “Remember

Leave a Reply

