You Set A Boundary

Today is Wednesday, August 3, 2016. 16 more days until S turns 23!

Quote of the Day

“A smile is an inexpensive way to change your looks.” – Charles Gord

Word of the Day

Fletcherize – to chew (food) slowly and thoroughly. It comes from an early 1900s nutritionist named Horace Fletcher.

Today is Watermelon Day. Perfect refreshment on such a hot summer day! (It’s supposed to be 102 here, today.)

I have to hurry, this morning. Our main computer system was down from lunch-time yesterday, and most of us wound up leaving at around 3:00 PM. So I need to go in early this morning, both to make up for the lost time and to try to get caught up on the work I couldn’t do yesterday afternoon.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

He set the earth on its foundations, so that it should never be moved.
You covered it with the deep as with a garment; the waters stood above the mountains.
At your rebuke they fled; at the sound of your thunder they took to flight.
The mountains rose, the valleys sank down to the place that you appointed for them.
You set a boundary that they may not pass, so that they might not again cover the earth.
Psalm 104:5-9

As we consider God as Creator, we do not meditate on boundless infinity. Rather, we see the boundaries which he has created, “the framework and structure within which our habitation takes place.” We also see the obedience of creation, “evidence that God’s commanding word is obeyed.”

“Almighty God, Maker of heaven and earth, Creator of all the things I see and all the things I don’t see: thank you for this carefully crafted world in which I can daily experience your love and your grace. All praise to you in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

Father, I, too, celebrate your creation almost daily. I confess that there are some days that I forget; some days that I don’t recognize the awesomeness of everything around me that you have created and put on display. But when I do remember, I experience you, your grace, and your mercy. I pray that all people would recognize and experience the same things from observing your creation. May they see it as something that was “carefully crafted,” and not something that just kind of fell together by accident.

I also praise you that you have a path for me. I may not always see it; in fact I seldom do. But my faith in you keeps me moving toward whatever it is that you have for me to do in your big picture. Keep me following you and keep me determined to work on your purpose and ambitions, not on my own.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

