It’s About the Relationship

Today is Thursday, August 4, 2016. 15 more days until S turns 23! Also, Pre-Friday.

Quote of the Day

“Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.” – P. J. O’Rourke

Word of the Day

Synthespian – A computer-generated character in a film.

Today is Coast Guard Day. This day honors the courageous work of Coast Guards.

If you recall, I was trying to leave early, yesterday. And I got out the door a few minutes after 6:00 AM. Unfortunately, my car wouldn’t start because my battery was dead. Fortunately, C was still home because I was leaving early. We were able to get me jumped off pretty quickly, and I got to work about 7:15 AM. Unfortunately, the batter must have been really bad, because it didn’t hold a charge on the way to work, and was still dead. Fortunately, I was able to get hold of Hyundai Roadside Assistance. Unfortunately, they don’t bring batteries, they just provide a jump start so that you can get to a repair shop. I did not need that at 8:30 AM. Fortunately, a co-worker was able to give me a jump so I could get started after work and get to the Auto Zone store across the street from our neighborhood. Unfortunately, they didn’t have the batter I needed. Fortunately, an Auto Zone three miles away had some, he was able to put on on hold for me, and also gave me another jump so I could drive to the other store. Fortunately, there is no more unfortunately in this story. The guy at the other Auto Zone got the new battery installed quickly, and it started right up. As I pointed out on my Facebook status, the one thing in the day that kept it from being a complete disaster was the fact that C was still home because I was leaving early. Had it been a “normal” work morning, she would have already been gone, and I likely would have had to try to call someone for help. God is good.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

You make springs gush forth in the valleys; they flow between the hills;
they give drink to every beast of the field; the wild donkeys quench their thirst.
Beside them the birds of the heavens dwell; they sing among the branches.
From your lofty abode you water the mountains; the earth is satisfied with the fruit of your work.
Psalm 104:10-13

“The very environment in which we live is evidence of provision for our basic needs; fulfillment is built into the basic structure of creation. God the maker is also God the satisfier.”

“I turn my dissatisfactions over to you, O God. I know that every need I experience is a stimulus to come to you. I know that you have a way of dealing with each need so that I will live completed, not deprived, praising, not complaining. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

The Brave Comradeship of God

And taking the twelve, he said to them, “See, we are going up to Jerusalem, and everything that is written about the Son of Man by the prophets will be accomplished.” Luke 18:31

God is brave to trust us! We might say that God was unwise to choose us, because we have nothing of value to bring. But that is exactly why he chooses us! “As long as you think there is something in you, He cannot choose you because you have ends of your own to serve; but if you have let Him bring you to the end of your self-sufficiency then He can choose you to go with Him to Jerusalem, and that will mean the fulfillment of purposes which He does not discuss with you.”

“The comradeship of God is made up out of men who know their poverty.” We, as Christians, we do not champion any “cause” of our own, but the cause of God. This is what truly bothers me when I see “Christians” on social media pushing their opinions about certain politicians, or, even worse, bashing the politicians that they don’t like. My place is not to push politics or candidates. My place is to spread the Gospel of Christ, which is that the Kingdom of God is here, and is available for you to receive and step into. The moment I begin to champion a cause of my own, is the moment I lose focus and step off of the path.

Also, it is important to realize that “the main thing about Christianity is not the work we do, but the relationship we maintain and the atmosphere produced by that relationship.” The work flows out of that relationship and atmosphere. This is why the disciplines are so important.

Father, I have only begun to truly understand the disciplines and what they mean to my life. I pray that, as I continue to study and learn, that these will become permanent additions to my life, shaping my character more and more like that of Christ. I pray that I may truly begin, as much as is possible, to live like Jesus. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name. Show me your way, show me your truth, show me your glory.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “It’s About the Relationship

Leave a Reply

