Identification in Prayer

Today is Saturday, August 6, 2016. 13 more days until S turns 23!

Quote of the Day

“The hardest thing is to take less when you can get more.” – Kin Hubbard

Word of the Day

Bumptious – offensively self-assertive.

Today is Mead Day. Mead is my favorite of all of the alcoholic beverages, and the hardest to find. It is referred to, in some cultures, as “honey-wine,” and is very sweet and slightly “heavier” (I call it thicker) than most beverages. I am usually only able to get it at Scarborough on on our yearly trip to the Ren-Faire. I may have to see if I can scrounge some up today.

My work day was pretty good, yesterday. In fact, I didn’t have much to do for the last hour I was there, so we got to leave on time. C, on the other hand, had some production issues and wound up having to stay pretty late. She didn’t get home until after 7:30. We watched a couple of TV shows and went on to bed. I didn’t even stay up late and play games, because I was pretty tired.

Another reason I didn’t stay up late was because I am taking my car in to the dealership this morning for a 10:00 AM appointment. I have a brake light out and something is leaking underneath, so I want to get it checked out. I’m hoping it’s not something really expensive or time consuming. I already had to replace a battery this week.

The Rangers got shut out by the Astros, in Houston, last night. They couldn’t touch Dallas Keuchel; only got three hits off of him. Martin Perez had a bad third inning, giving up four runs. Final score, 5-0, Astros. In LA, the Red Sox did some shutting out of their own, beating the Dodgers 9-0, “while Scully danced over the airwaves.” Steven Wright, the knuckle-baller, got the win, while Scott Kazmir took the loss. Wright pitched the complete game, making it his fourth complete game for the season! Unfortunately, both Baltimore and Toronto also won, so no ground was gained in the standings.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

O LORD, how manifold are your works! In wisdom have you made them all; the earth is full of your creatures.
Here is the sea, great and wide, which teems with creatures innumerable, living things both small and great.

There go the ships, and Leviathan, which you formed to play in it.
Psalm 104:24-26

“The range of creation, from small to great, is staggering. There is an intricacy and extravagance in living forms that embraces rotifers and giraffes, dragonflies and whales. Clearly, there is exuberance and delight in the Creator.”

I had to look up “rotifer.”
Rotifer

“‘All things bright and beautiful, all creatures great and small, all things wise and wonderful; the Lord God made them all. . . . He gave us eyes to see them, and lips that we might tell how great is God Almighty, who has made all things well’ (Cecil Frances Alexander, ‘All Things Bright and Beautiful’). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

The Cross in Prayer

In that day you will ask in my name . . . John 16:26

We think, too often, that the Cross is something we have to get through. But the only way we get through it is to get into it. “The Cross stands for one thing only for us–a complete and entire and absolute identification with the Lord Jesus Christ, and there is nothing in which this identification is realized more than in prayer.”

Jesus told us that the Father knows what we need before we ask. Then why ask? Because the purpose of prayer is not to get answers from God. “Prayer is perfect and complete oneness with God.” If we only pray to get answers, we will get frustrated with God. Answers do come, but not always in the way we expect or desire them. And our frustrations show that we have not fully identified ourselves with Jesus in our prayers. “We are here to be living monuments of God’s grace.”

We must beware of trying to attach blame on someone or something else when our prayers seem to go unanswered. “You will find there is a reason which is a deep instruction to you, not to anyone else.”

Father, help me gain this deep identification with Jesus, both as I live, and as I pray. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Teach me the way of praying not just to get answers, but to be deeply identified with Christ in the Cross.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

