Worship and History

Today is Tuesday, August 9, 2016. Ten more days until S turns 23!

Quote of the Day

“Having eyes, but not seeing beauty; having ears, but not hearing music; having minds, but not perceiving truth…These are the things to fear…” ― Tetsuko Kuroyanagi

Word of the Day

Footle – To act or talk foolishly; to occupy oneself in an aimless or trivial way. Also with about, around.

Today is Book Lovers Day. Do I even need to say anything else? Other than I should get to stay home from work today.

Okay, it’s hot, here. I know it’s hot in other places, too, and I sympathize with those people. But I don’t live in those places, I live here. And it’s HOT here. Yesterday’s heat index was 114!! I work in a warehouse that is, thankfully, at least somewhat climate controlled. But it’s still, I’m sure, over 80 degrees in there. It looks like we might get some rain this weekend, though, which, if it does happen, will drop the temperature a bit.

Band practice was pretty good, last night. I’ve got some work to do, though. There are some parts that need some serious work. So I need to really do that and not just talk about it all week.

The Rangers came up with a good win, last night. They trailed the Rockies for most of the game, but in the top of the ninth, they tied and went ahead, then held on for the win, 4-3. The Red Sox were off, and play the Yankees tonight.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Oh give thanks to the LORD; call upon his name; make known his deeds among the peoples!
Sing to him, sing praises to him; tell of all his wondrous works!
Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the LORD rejoice!
Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually!
Remember the wondrous works that he has done, his miracles, and the judgments he uttered,

O offspring of Abraham, his servant, children of Jacob, his chosen ones!
Psalm 105:1-6

The phrases “Seek the Lord,” and “Remember the wondrous works,” are linked together in this Psalm, reminding us that worship and history are connected. We have so much more to be thankful for when we remember the historical deeds of our Father. It is important to remind ourselves of what he has done in our lives. This is why Scripture is full of passages that do that. “Our aspiring reach for God and God’s descent to us in works of mercy and salvation parallel and synchronize in the gospel.”

“When I seek you, O God, I do it in a world full of your working. My asking is all done in the environment of your answers. Thank you for the needs which bring me back continuously to what only you can give, even in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

Father, help me remember today. As I walk through this day, walk with me, reminding me constantly of the works you have done, not only in my own life, but in the lives of those around me, as well as the countless lives of the saints who have gone before me.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

