On Choosing to Suffer

Today is Wednesday, August 10, 2016. Nine more days until S turns 23!

Quote of the Day

“It’s like deja-vu, all over again.” – Yogi Berra

Word of the Day

Titivate – to make smart or spruce: She titivated her old dress with a new belt.

Today is Duran Duran Appreciation Day. What can I say about that? I like a little Duran Duran every now and then, so here you go.

Well, it’s “Hump Day” today. It’s the middle of the work week (for some people), and we tend to perceive of the rest of the week being downhill. I’m not sure that’s accurate. I can’t decide if I agree with that or if Monday is Hump Day and the rest of the week is downhill from there. Sometimes it seems like it’s all uphill until Friday afternoon. However, more and more, the older I get, the more I just look at each day as it’s own event. We spend so much time longing for that weekend. But think about this: If time fast-forwarded, and it was suddenly Saturday, I’ve just lost three days of my life. Live every day. You don’t know how many you’ve got.

The Rangers pulled off another stunning come-from-behind victory, yesterday, in an afternoon game in Colorado. So they are 2-0 in this odd four-game series that makes me believe MLB schedule makers are smoking some serious crack. They played two games in Colorado, followed by two games in Texas against the same team. I really don’t understand what they are trying to accomplish, here. Anyway, the Rangers continue to be the best team in the AL, and have a four game winning streak. They are seven games ahead of the second place Mariners.

The Red Sox beat the Yankees 5-3. Losses by the Boo Jays and the O’s get the Sox 1.5 games out of first.

Tonight, we have our semi-monthly Anchor prayer gathering. Saturday night, we’ll be having a Night of Worship, and it looks like I’ll be throwing down some keys at this event. Not literally. That’s a figure of speech. Playing. I’ll be playing keyboards.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

He is the LORD our God; his judgments are in all the earth.
He remembers his covenant forever, the word that he commanded, for a thousand generations,

the covenant that he made with Abraham, his sworn promise to Isaac,
which he confirmed to Jacob as a statute, to Israel as an everlasting covenant,
saying, “To you I will give the land of Canaan as your portion for an inheritance.”
Psalm 105:7-11

When we see the word “covenant,” we should be reminded of the many times in which God kept his promises and led his people in spite of their rebelliousness and stubbornness. “God’s covenant is his commitment to us: he never forgets what he has decreed and never fails to keep what he has promised.”

“O God, I thank you for your unshakable decision to be my Savior and my Friend, a decision proven and ratified in Jesus Christ, by whose life I live. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

The Sacrament of the Saint

Therefore let those who suffer according to God’s will entrust their souls to a faithful Creator while doing good. 1 Peter 4:19

“To choose to suffer means that there is something wrong; to choose God’s will even if it means suffering is a very different thing.” No saint with a healthy view of life in Christ would purposefully choose suffering. However, he will choose God’s will, just as Jesus did, “whether it means suffering or not.” Additionally, no true saint would dare interfere in the suffering of another saint.

“The saint who satisfies the heart of Jesus will make other saints strong and mature for God.” We also dare not sympathize with those who are suffering, not in a way of having pity for them. The true saint will understand and pray for the suffering saint to be strong and endure the suffering. Jesus sought no sympathy, and when Peter attempted to sway him from the suffering that was coming, Jesus, essentially, informed him that his pity was from the devil (see Matthew 16:23).

We sometimes think that God wastes his saints, putting them in “the most useless places.” We mistakenly have this thought process that says, “God intends me to be here because I am so useful.” The moment we believe we are useful to God is when we cease being so. “God puts His saints where they will glorify Him, and we are no judges at all of where that is.”

Father let me not be concerned as to whether or not I am useful to you. Rather let me be concerned that I am living my life by the faithfulness of Jesus Christ. Let me be concerned that I am walking in the Kingdom and being aware of your presence in me and with me every moment of every day. May I cherish each day that I have with you, and may I always seek your will, even if it causes me suffering. For I know that, if I am following you, you will give me the strength to endure anything that comes along.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

5 thoughts on “On Choosing to Suffer

Leave a Reply

