A Strong and Competent Savior

“We do not find our security by joining a strong and successful group, but by being servants to a strong and competent Savior.”~~Eugene H. Peterson

Today is Thursday, August 11, 2016. Eight more days until S turns 23!

Quote of the Day

“I never know what I’m going to put on the canvas. The canvas paints itself. I’m just the middleman.” – Peter Max
Word of the Day

Filial – 1 : of, relating to, or befitting a son or daughter
2 : having or assuming the relation of a child or offspring

Today is Play in the Sand Day. I would love to be doing that instead of working.

We are actually supposed to get a break from this heat wave, this weekend. In fact, Sunday’s projected high is 82 degrees! This is going to feel amazing after several days of 100+ temps. We’re also supposed to get rain Saturday and Sunday, as well as most of next week.

Our prayer gathering went well, last night. There were only four of us, but that doesn’t disappoint me. We had some conversation about prayer and motivation, centering on a statement that our pastor made to me, yesterday morning, via text. That being that the reason we pray is that there are people around us who need things that we can’t do (or give). I do believe that this prayer ministry will, eventually, grow into something bigger. But we aren’t in a hurry.

The Red Sox blew a 4-1 lead against the Yankees, last night, to lose 9-4. The Rangers blew a 3-1 lead in the top of the eighth, falling behind 4-3, but then came back (for the third game in a row), to win 5-4. They have now won five consecutive games.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

When they were few in number, of little account, and sojourners in it,
wandering from nation to nation, from one kingdom to another people,
he allowed no one to oppress them; he rebuked kings on their account,
saying, “Touch not my anointed ones, do my prophets no harm!”
Psalm 105:12-15

Even though God’s people were, at one time, a “handful of wandering refugees,” they were always “safe in God’s protection. We do not find our security by joining a strong and successful group, but by being servants to a strong and competent Savior.” We may be “of little account” to the world, but, according to 1 Peter 2:4, we are in the sight of God chosen and precious.

“‘Through each perplexing path of life our wandering footsteps guide; give us each day our daily bread, and raiment fit provide. O spread Thy covering wings around till all our wanderings cease, and at our Father’s loved abode our souls arrive in peace’ (Philip Doddridge, ‘O God of Bethel, by Whose Hand’). Amen.”

Father, help me to trust in you at all times. May I find my strength in you and in Jesus Christ, living my life by the faithfulness of Christ, not depending upon my own works. I must do these works, in training my body to serve you. But let me not find strength so much in the organizations of which I am part, but by being a servant to my “strong and competent Savior.”

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

