Stop and Get Right

Today is Saturday, August 13, 2016. Six more days until S turns 23! (And I get a day off from work!)

Quote of the Day

“Some cause happiness wherever they go; others whenever they go.” – Oscar Wilde

Word of the Day

Me-tooism – the adopting of policies, methods, products, etc., similar or identical to those of a peer, rival, or competitor.

Today is Garage Sale Day Isn’t that every Saturday?

I had a great time practicing last night, for tonight’s night of worship. It’s going to be an awesome time, tonight, I truly believe it. It’s a busy weekend, with practice last night, the Night of Worship tonight, and then “normal” church (although our church is anything but normal) tomorrow morning.

After I got home and had something to eat, I spent a few hours playing a new PS4 game that I got, called No Man’s Sky. It’s pretty amazing.

Today, there needs to be a trip to the grocery store, and I need to be at the house for the Night of Worship by 4:00 PM. It starts at 6:00 PM. Ish.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Then Israel came to Egypt; Jacob sojourned in the land of Ham.
And the LORD made his people very fruitful and made them stronger than their foes.
He turned their hearts to hate his people, to deal craftily with his servants.
Psalm 105:23-25

The ancient Egyptians saw Israel as slaves, and treated them as such. But Israel endured and believed themselves to be servants of God, and they “experienced deliverance.” Later, the Roman Empire saw Christians as criminals and persecuted them. “The Christians confessed themselves as sinners and found freedom in Christ.” In the life of faith, there is a reversal of strength and weakness.

“O God, when I feel incapable of good and worthless for love, I will remember your words to St. Paul; ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness,’ and I will take heart, even in Jesus Christ in whose name I pray (2 Corinthians 12:9). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Quench Not the Spirit

Do not quench the Spirit. 1 Thessalonians 5:19

The Spirit’s voice is sometimes very gentle, like a soft breeze, and if we are not in communion with God, we will not hear it. We must be sensitive enough to hear when the Spirit checks us, so that we do not quench him. “His checks always come as a still small voice, so small that no one but the saint notices them.”

It is important that we remain in the light, so that we don’t become sentimental Christians and continuously look back at past experience. We can’t live on our spiritual memories, especially if that is our defense mechanism for refusing to walk in the light, currently. If we sense the Spirit checking, we must immediately stop and get right.

Father, I pray that I will always have the sensitivity to hear the Spirit and do what he is telling me. May I take on the easy yoke of Christ and do the disciplines, so that I can fully walk in the light, and experience you, here and now. I don’t want to be the kind of Christian that winds up always looking back at “back in the day.” I want that time to be now; let my past experiences merge with my present spiritual intimacy with you, that there would not be any noticeable break between the two. In short, may my abiding in you be consistent and deep.

I pray for the the Night of Worship tonight. May your Spirit fill that place and bring healing, truth, love, peace, and grace, and whatever else anyone who is there might need.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

