Seek the Lord

Today is Sunday, August 14. FIVE more days until S turns 23 and we get a day off from work!

Quote of the Day

“The heart of another is a dark forest, always, no matter how close it has been to one’s own.” – Willa Cather

Word of the Day

Sacerdotal – of priests; priestly.

Today is Creamsicle Day. Now if I can just find an ice cream truck!!

The Night of Worship went well, I think. It seems like there weren’t as many people there, last night, but it was still a sweet time. There was a good amount of prayer that went on, as well as the music. I struggled with my back, though, as it started hurting me around three songs in. If I do this again, I think I will lower the keyboard stand and sit down.

I slept really well, but not for long enough. I’m still pretty tired from last night, but I have to “suck it up” and be on point for this morning’s worship gathering. I will have all afternoon to rest up. C and R are going on a road trip, this afternoon. R wants to play the soundtrack of “Hamilton” for C while they drive. I believe they’re going to drive up to Winstar, which is about an hour from where R lives. I decided to stay home so I can practice the trombone a little bit. And play my new PS4 game.

We are getting ready for our worship gathering this morning. We are The Exchange. We meet at 10:15 at the Northpark YMCA, 9100 N Beach St., Fort Worth, TX. If you are in the area, please come worship with us.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

He sent Moses, his servant, and Aaron, whom he had chosen.
They performed his signs among them and miracles in the land of Ham.

He sent darkness, and made the land dark; they did not rebel against his words.
He turned their waters into blood and caused their fish to die.
Their land swarmed with frogs, even in the chambers of their kings.
He spoke, and there came swarms of flies, and gnats throughout their country.
He gave them hail for rain, and fiery lightning bolts through their land.
He struck down their vines and fig trees, and shattered the trees of their country.
He spoke, and the locusts came, young locusts without number,
which devoured all the vegetation in their land and ate up the fruit of their ground.
He struck down all the firstborn in their land, the firstfruits of all their strength.
Psalm 105:26-36

The plagues of Egypt are great examples of the power of God. Most of the plagues consisted of something that, under normal circumstances, was relatively harmless. “Solely by the work of God it was transformed into a powerful instrument of his will.”

“Dear God, I know that you can use anything to bring about your purposes, even things that I treat as unimportant, even areas of life that seem to me to be remote from the divine mercy. Grant that I may be alert to your will in every thing and every place. Amen.”

(From Daily Guideposts 2016)

Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known. 1 Corinthians 13:12

In today’s reading, author Debbie Macomber writes of a time when her family had moved, and had begun to seek a new church. She made a list of everything she wanted. They visited church after church, failing to find the one that lived up to all of her expectations. One morning, she began praying over her list. She says that she felt God speak to her heart: “Debbie that list you have–that’s heaven. Ask Me to guide you to the church I have chosen for you.”

That changed everything. Within a month they had found the right church. “It wasn’t perfect. No church is.”

What I get from this may not be what the writer intended, but it’s what God intends. We spend too much time seeking the external things instead of God, himself. We need to seek God, not the programs that the church offers. We need to seek the Lord, not a great preacher or worship team. Seek Him.

Father, I believe I have understood this in the past. Yet I still find myself affected by external circumstances surround church and worship. Direct me, by the power of your Spirit, to seek YOU! All of the externals are really not all that important, in the grand scheme of things. I need to seek you, and you alone. Show me your ways, that I may know you and find favor with you. Let me see your glory.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

One thought on “Seek the Lord

Leave a Reply

