Let Not Your Hearts Be Troubled

Today is FRIDAY, August 26, 2016. 49 days until Galveston! (We’re staying at this house.)

Quote of the Day

“It takes a long time to become young.” – Pablo Picasso

Word of the Day

Truepenny – a trusty, honest fellow.

Today is Women’s Equality Day. It commemorates the day in 1920 when women gained the right to vote.

The weekend is nigh! We’ve made it to Friday.

While we were eating dinner, last night, we watched American Gothic, followed by Sunday night’s teaser of The Voice. This year, Miley Cyrus and Alicia Keys are joining Blake and Adam as judges. First time they’ve ever had two women on the judging panel. Looks like it’s going to be fun. Plus, they sang this song together:

Gave me goosebumps.

Let’s get this day done so we can have our weekend!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever!
Let the redeemed of the LORD say so, whom he has redeemed from trouble
and gathered in from the lands, from the east and from the west, from the north and from the south.
Psalm 107:1-3

“The redeemed are summoned from the four quarters of the compass to give vigorous witness to God’s goodness and God’s love. As the roll is called, representative figures are announced to step forth and give a personal report on the ways in which redemption is experienced: ‘Let the redeemed of the Lord say so!'”

“I give thanks to you, O Lord. I have experienced your goodness and know it is working in me; I have experienced your love and know that it is changing me. Thank you, in the name of Jesus Christ, my Redeemer. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Are You Ever Disturbed?

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. John 14:27

Why do we get disturbed? Partially because we don’t believe Jesus. (I didn’t say we don’t believe in Jesus, I said we don’t believe Jesus. There is a difference.) And partially because we don’t keep our eyes on Jesus.

Sometimes our peace is “based upon ignorance.” You know what they say . . . “ignorance is bliss.” But then the facts of life come tumbling in, and we discover that “inner peace is impossible unless it is received from Jesus.” The peace that he gives comes from “looking into His face and realizing His undisturbedness.”

If we find ourselves to be “painfully disturbed,” we need only look into the face of Jesus and receive his undisturbedness. “Reflected peace is the proof that you are right with God because you are liberty to turn your mind to Him. If you are not right with God, you can never turn your mind anywhere but on yourself.”

We must not try to “worry it out.” This will only magnify our disturbedness. We must abide in Jesus, as he commands us. This is the only way to have abiding peace. He promises us . . . “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. . . . Let not your hearts be troubled.”

Father, teach me this peace! Truly, I am finding myself worrying less and less as I grow closer to you. I still acknowledge that there is much work to be done, but all of this teaching on disciplines has really worked in my favor as I work through them. There are days when I feel so close to something tremendously huge, and then there are days when I feel like I’m back at the starting line. I want this peace of which Jesus spoke, and I know that the only way to receive it is to abide in him and his words abide in me. That is the theme of my year, Father, and I am depending on you to get me there. (Along with my work, of course. I know you won’t do it for me.)

Come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

