Work It Out!

Today is Saturday, August 27, 2016. 48 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“Love has reasons which reason cannot understand.” – Blaise Pascal

Word of the Day

Limacine – pertaining to or resembling a slug; sluglike.

Today is Franchise Appreciation Day. A franchise is a business that is locally owned, but comes under the auspices of a larger, parent company. For example, many Subway restaurants are franchises, as are many McDonald’s restaurants. Other top listed franchises are Supercuts, 7-Eleven, Dunkin Donuts, Pizza Hut, Anytime Fitness, Jack in the Box, Ace Hardware, Taco Bell, Sonic, and Baskin-Robbins. There are many more, and one list can be found at this link. Visit a franchise store today and support a local business.

Today, we will celebrate J’s birthday, and R’s success. It should be a great day. We’ll have lunch somewhere (not sure where yet), give J some birthday gifts, then just visit for a while, or maybe play games or watch TV. Who knows what the day will bring?

Tomorrow we have our worship gathering, and then pretty much nothing else. Oh. I guess we have to go get groceries in there somewhere.

The Red Sox and Rangers both lost yesterday. The Sox lost to the Royals, 6-3, and dropped back into second place, while the Rangers were embarrassed by the Indians, 12-1. They’re still 6.5 games ahead of the second place Mariners, though.

Today also marks the day that the world lost Stevie Ray Vaughan in a helicopter crash in 1990.

Time to stop being limacine and get moving.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Some wandered in desert wastes, finding no way to a city to dwell in;
hungry and thirsty, their soul fainted within them.
Then they cried to the LORD in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress.
He led them by a straight way till they reached a city to dwell in.
Let them thank the LORD for his steadfast love, for his wondrous works to the children of man!
For he satisfies the longing soul, and the hungry soul he fills with good things.
Psalm 107:4-9

We hunger and thirst, both physically and spiritually. These needs are daily reminders of our need for God’s provision. “Every meal eaten, every cup of water drunk, is a sign of the satisfactions God provides in his creative providence and redemptive mercy.”

“‘O could I speak the matchless worth, O could I sound the glories forth which in my Saviour shine! I’d sing His glorious righteousness, and magnify the wondrous grace which made salvation mine’ (Samuel Medley, ‘O Could I Speak the Matchless Worth’). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Theology Alive

So Jesus said to them, “The light is among you for a little while longer. Walk while you have the light, lest darkness overtake you. The one who walks in the darkness does not know where he is going. John 12:35

This is a tough reading. “Beware of not acting upon what you see in your moments on the mount with God.” Statements such as this cause me to think back on moments in my life with a great deal of regret. But we cannot dwell on that regret. That is not the purpose. The purpose is to cause us to do the right thing going forward. “Continually bring the truth out into actuality; work it out in every domain, or the very light you have will prove a curse.”

It’s not enough just to get inspiration from Scripture (or any other source, for that matter). We must take this inspiration that we get and work it into our lives. This is what the disciplines are all about; taking the truth of Christ and working it into our lives, training ourselves to live in the light.

“The most difficult person to deal with is the one who has the smug satisfaction of an experience to which he can refer back, but who is not working it out in practical life.” I have known this person. I have BEEN this person! We must beware of any belief or experience that makes us self-indulgent. We must work out our theology in our practical relationships. “Every bit of your life physical, moral and spiritual, is to be judged by the standard of the Atonement.”

Father, I confess that I have been that smug person before. But I also confess that I never want to be that person again. Keep me from being guilty of pointing back to an experience or an inspiration if I am not working that out in my daily life. Keep me from not living the truth that I believe as I walk in my daily relationships with people. May I show the love of Christ to all, especially to those I am in contact with every day. Help me to work out the truths that I have learned, so that they aren’t just platitudes, but that they become part of who I am.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

