Today is Thursday, August September 1, 2016. Pre-Friday. 43 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“How far away the stars seem, and how far is our first kiss, and ah, how old my heart.” – William Butler Yeats

Bonus Quote

“How inappropriate to call this planet Earth when it is quite clearly Ocean.” – Arthur C. Clarke

Word of the Day

Peradventure – chance, doubt, or uncertainty. Also, Archaic. it may be; maybe; possibly; perhaps. I recall Abraham’s discussion with the Lord over the impending destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah. In the King James Version, Abraham kept using the word “peradventure.” And Abraham drew near, and said, Wilt thou also destroy the righteous with the wicked? Peradventure there be fifty righteous within the city: wilt thou also destroy and not spare the place for the fifty righteous that are therein? (Genesis 18:23-24)

Today is Emma M Nutt Day, celebrating the first female phone operator. Many of you have no idea what I’m talking about, this “phone operator.” I don’t have time. Google is your friend.

We whipped up a batch of Italian Mac n Cheese for dinner last night. That stuff is incredible! And our recipe makes enough so that there is a portion left over that S can have for lunch the next day. While we were eating dinner, C and I watched Blazing Saddles. I had never seen that before, so in honor of Gene Wilder, we watched it last night (a friend from work loaned me the DVD). It was funny, and it was typical Mel Brooks silly, but I still like Young Frankenstein better. That will always be my favorite Wilder movie, even more than Willy Wonka.

About an hour after we went to sleep, I had a muscle cramp in my thigh. I get those, every now and then. While I was still awake in the aftermath of the cramp, I suddenly remembered that we had not put away the leftover food. So I jumped up (okay, it wasn’t really a “jump”) and went to the kitchen to take care of that. I had some trouble falling asleep after that, but finally was able to.

Both the Rangers and Red Sox played afternoon games, yesterday. The Red Sox pulled out a win against the Rays, 8-6. The Boo Jays beat the Orioles, so the Sox are still two games out, but are now two games ahead of the O’s. The Rangers, demolished the Mariners with five home runs (Odor hit two), beating them 14-1. The Astros, who seem to have gotten hot once again, also won, so the Rangers remain 8.5 games ahead of the second place Astros. When the Mariners came to town, they were in second place. Now, they are 11.5 games out, in third place, after being swept by the Rangers. The Rangers are the first team in the AL to reach 80 wins on the season. They could, mathematically, win 100 games this season, but it’s not likely. They would have to win at least 75% of the rest of their games to reach that. However, they are currently 7-3 in their last ten, so who knows?

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

When they are diminished and brought low through oppression, evil, and sorrow,
he pours contempt on princes and makes them wander in trackless wastes;
but he raises up the needy out of affliction and makes their families like flocks.
The upright see it and are glad, and all wickedness shuts its mouth.
Whoever is wise, let him attend to these things; let them consider the steadfast love of the LORD.
Psalm 107:39-43

This psalm shows us several areas in which God shows his “saving power,” and calls us to praise him for it. “Wise people are conversant with the ways in which God works and are practiced in making glad response.”

“Almighty God, you satisfy and you deliver; you heal and you rescue; you judge and you bless. I will give heed to all that you do; I will pay attention to the ways you show love; I will be glad in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

Father, help me to be more observant as I walk through each day, observant to see the ways that you have satisfied me, delivered me, rescued me, healed me, judged me, and blessed me. Open my eyes that I might see the multitude of ways that you act on my behalf each day. And then open my mouth and loosen my lips that I might praise you for all of them. Also give me true courage; that which is needed to walk through this life rightly related to you in Jesus Christ.

Come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

