Broken and Spilled Out

Today is FRIDAY, September 2, 2016 (I’m still typing August). Friday!! And 42 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“I believe in rules. Sure I do. If there weren’t any rules, how could you break them?” – Leo Durocher

Word of the Day

Latebricole – Of an animal, esp. a spider: living concealed in a hole.

Today is V-J Day, so marked by President Truman in 1945. While the Japanese technically surrendered on August 15, the official ceremony marking the end of WWII was on September 2. It is also observed as a day to remember the 60 to 80 million people who lost their lives, on all sides of the conflict.

I really don’t have much to write about, this morning. Nothing really significant happened, yesterday, and there were no baseball games that matter (apologies to fans of the teams that did play, I’m sure they matter to you), so I’ll just move right on to the important stuff.

I will say that we have a three-day-weekend coming up, as Monday is Labor Day in the U.S. Once again, we will take the day off in honor of the labor that we do. Or something like that. Unless you work retail. Then you have to work twice as hard because all the retailers have huge sales on Labor Day. Somehow, this just seems unfair. I believe we should have a national holiday for everyone that isn’t associated with anything else. Stay Home and Do Nothing Day. Yeah. That’s it.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

A Song. A Psalm of David. My heart is steadfast, O God! I will sing and make melody with all my being!
Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn!
I will give thanks to you, O LORD, among the peoples; I will sing praises to you among the nations.
For your steadfast love is great above the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the clouds.
Be exalted, O God, above the heavens! Let your glory be over all the earth!
That your beloved ones may be delivered, give salvation by your right hand and answer me!
Psalm 108:1-6

Dawn is awakened when we praise. How much better our day when begun with awakening the morning with praise!

“‘When morning gilds the skies, my heart awaking cries, may Jesus Christ be praised: alike at work and prayer to Jesus I repair; may Jesus Christ be praised! The night becomes as day when from the heart we say, may Jesus Christ be praised: the powers of darkness fear when this sweet chant they hear, may Jesus Christ be praised!’ (‘When Morning Gilds the Skies,’ German, translated by Edward Caswell). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

The Sacrament of Sacrifice

Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.’ John 7:38

What Jesus did not say in this passage is that whoever believes in him will be blessed. There are way too many people (and groups) preaching that if we believe in Jesus, we will experience all of the fullness of God’s blessings. “Our Lord’s teaching is always anti-self-realization.”

“If we believe in Jesus, it is not what we gain, but what He pours through us that counts.” We cannot measure our spiritual lives by our successes. They must be measured by “what God pours through us, and we cannot measure that at all.”

Consider the story of Mary of Bethany, when she broke that vial of precious perfume and poured it all over Jesus. Everyone else in the room criticized her for the waste, but Jesus praised her, and even went so far as to say that, whenever the Gospel is preached, she will be remembered. And guess what? She is! Later in his life, the Son of God would spill out his life in what would appear, to many, to be a complete waste. We must be ready to do the same, for his glory.

“It is time now to break the life, to cease craving for satisfaction, and to spill the thing out.”

Father, bring me further toward the place where I am not seeking your blessings, but seeking to have things poured out through me, from your grace and for your glory. Break my life and let it spill out, that others might be refreshed and blessed. May I be, like Mary’s alabaster vial, “broken and spilled out.”

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Broken and Spilled Out

Leave a Reply

