From Bitter To Sweet

Today is Saturday, September 3. I finally did not type “August,” first. 41 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” – George Bernard Shaw

Word of the Day

Quodlibet – a philosophical or theological point proposed for disputation; also : a disputation on such a point. Or, a whimsical combination of familiar melodies or texts.

Today is World Beard Day, celebrated on the first Saturday of September, each year. The origins of this holiday are unknown, but there is evidence that it may go as far back as Danish Vikings.

Our long weekend is underway. I stayed up late, last night, playing PS4 games (No Man’s Sky and Fallout 4, since they released the “Nuka Cola World” expansion this week). In the meantime, the Rangers beat the Astros 10-8, increasing their lead to 9.5 games, and putting them at a season high 27 games over .500. In a late night game, the Red Sox dismantled the Athletics 16-2. The Boo Jays lost to the last place Rays (poetic, eh?), so the Sox are back within one game of first place. Meanwhile, the Cubs are a frightening and unreal 40 games over .500!

Not much planned for today. C has an errand to run, in a bit, and I need to get music ready for tomorrow’s worship gathering. Will we go to the grocery store today? I have no idea. We very well might wait until tomorrow evening.

I finished Dallas Willard’s book The Spirit of the Disciplines, yesterday, and you can find my review of the book at my other blog, Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit. My immediate plan is to now begin working through the Spiritual Disciplines Handbook, by Adele Ahlberg Calhoun.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

God has promised in his holiness: “With exultation I will divide up Shechem and portion out the Valley of Succoth.
Gilead is mine; Manasseh is mine; Ephraim is my helmet, Judah my scepter.
Moab is my washbasin; upon Edom I cast my shoe; over Philistia I shout in triumph.”
Psalm 108:7-9

In this passage, David uses familiar, everyday names of geographical locations to relate the story of God’s redemption.

“O God, I want to acquire a lively sense of your active rule in the towns and nations around me–to experience your promises and be confident of your victory, through Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

The Waters of Satisfaction Scattered

Then the three mighty men broke through the camp of the Philistines and drew water out of the well of Bethlehem that was by the gate and carried and brought it to David. But he would not drink of it. He poured it out to the LORD. 2 Samuel 23:16

This is a difficult reading, but the gist of it is that we need to not hold on tightly to the blessings of God. “You can never sanctify to God that with which you long to satisfy yourself. If you satisfy yourself with a blessing from God, it will corrupt you; you must sacrifice it, pour it out, do with it what common sense says is an absurd waste.”

When we seek our own satisfaction, we not only deprive ourselves of further blessing, we deprive others around us from sharing in those blessings. It is something to ponder as we seek to become closer to Christ and living as he lived.

“If you have become bitter and sour, it is because when God gave you a blessing you clutched it for yourself; whereas if you had poured it out unto the Lord, you would have been the sweetest person out of heaven.”

Father, as I continue in this journey, I pray for the sweetness of pouring out your blessings, that others might be blessed from them. Let me not seek my own satisfaction, but, rather, seek to promote and serve others with the blessings I have been given. Teach me the ways of Christ, that I may walk in his steps, living as he lived. The desire of my heart is to be transformed to the likeness of Jesus, that I might have a positive, transforming effect on the world around me. May your kingdom come and your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

Come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

