I Am Not My Own

Today is Sunday, September 4, 2016. 40 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“From now on, I’ll connect the dots my own way.” – Bill Watterson

Word of the Day

Abeyance – temporary inactivity, cessation, or suspension.

Today is Newspaper Carrier Day. Talk about your dying occupations! There’s at least one around here who has a job only because they keep throwing free stuff in our driveway once a week. On Wednesday, we get a Keller newspaper that we never asked for (and we don’t live in Keller), and on Saturday, we get all the flyers from the Sunday paper. We also never asked for those. They all go straight into the recycle bin. Unless it rains a lot before we pick them up.

The Rangers trounced the Astros, last night, 12-4, increasing their lead over the second place team to 10-5 games. They also increased their winning streak to seven, and their last ten record to 9-1. Could they win 100 games this season? The way they’re playing right now, it’s entirely possible. The Red Sox also soundly defeated the Athletics again, 11-2. The Boo Jays lost to the O’s, so the Sox and Jays are once again tied for first place, with the O’s only two games behind.

Tomorrow is Labor Day, in the U.S., so we have the day off from work. We don’t have a lot of plans, other than having steaks and mashed potatoes for lunch. R & J won’t be coming over, because R needs to stay in and get some rest. Perfectly understandable, as she is probably working more, right now, than she ever has.

We will be picking up my mother on Tuesday night and bringing her back home with us, so she can get her second cataract surgery done Wednesday morning. The office where the procedure is done is in Fort Worth, so we decided it would be easier if she just spent a few days with us. I’ll take her to the office Wednesday morning, taking PTO for the day, and C will take her Thursday for her follow-up visit. Then we’ll either take her home Friday night or Saturday.

We are getting ready for our worship gathering, this morning. We worship with The Exchange, which meets at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 North Beach Street in Fort Worth, TX.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Who will bring me to the fortified city? Who will lead me to Edom?
Have you not rejected us, O God? You do not go out, O God, with our armies.
Oh grant us help against the foe, for vain is the salvation of man!
With God we shall do valiantly; it is he who will tread down our foes.
Psalm 108:10-13

Edom became a symbol for an impenetrable defense. Transferred to the life of faith, Edom is a symbol for the forces of sin, “forces before which we are powerless, but which are conquered routinely by God in Christ.”

“I thank you, O God for delivering me from a way of life bound by impossibilities into one that burgeons with opportunities. I will no longer live timidly and cautiously, inhibited by the enemy, but confidently and valiantly, believing in a victorious Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

His!

I have manifested your name to the people whom you gave me out of the world. Yours they were, and you gave them to me, and they have kept your word. John 17:6

The point when we have reached the greatest maturity is when we can say (and truly mean), “I am not my own.” We must realize that our lives are based, not on what God has done for us, but on whose we are. When we have truly reached the point where we can say that, we will be of great use to God. “Our Lord never sent any of the disciples out on the ground of what He had done for them.” Our message is not, “Come and see what the Lord has done for me.” Our message is the same as the message of Jesus Christ. The Kingdom of God is at hand.

We must constantly check our relationships. If we belong more to our mothers, fathers, spouses, brothers, sisters, or even friends, than we to to the Lord, we cannot be his disciples. “Our Lord makes a disciple His own possession, He becomes responsible for him.” The secret of the missionary is, “I am His and He is carrying out His enterprises through me.”

Father, I confess that I have not yet reached this place. I sense progress, yes. But there are still times when I find myself asserting my own rights instead of submitting to yours. In your kingdom, I have no rights of my own. I must surrender those so-called rights to you. Only then will I be able to truly love others as you love them and see them as better than myself. Teach me the ways of Christ, Father, that I might walk as he walked, and step into his easy yoke. May your kingdom come in my life!

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

