Stay Steadfastly True To Jesus

Today is Wednesday, September 7, 2016. 37 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky.” – Rabindranath Tagore

Word of the Day

Corybantic – frenzied; agitated; unrestrained.

Today is Buy A Book Day! Oh, my goodness! This is one of my favorites!

I had a safe and uneventful trip to pick up my mother, last night. The first half of the trip out there was slow, of course, as I had to drive through rush hour traffic in Carrollton, Lewisville, and Grapevine. But once I got past I-35W on the 820, it was pretty much smooth sailing. Heck, after I got on the 180 at Weatherford, I don’t think I hit the brakes I got to Mineral Wells. Wait . . . there was this one spot where the speed limit drops to 60 at a little town called Cool.

Anyway, I’m up at the usual time, because Mama’s surgery appointment is at 8:00 AM, in downtown-ish Fort Worth. I figure we’ll leave the house around 7:00 and get there early. It’s outpatient, routine cataract surgery, so it shouldn’t take too long, and we’ll go right on home, afterward. Her follow-up is at 10:00 tomorrow morning. C will be taking her for that appointment.

The Red Sox and Rangers both won, last night, late games on the west coast. The Rangers beat the Mariners 10-7, and the Red Sox beat the Padres 5-1. The Boo Jays lost, so the Sox are back in a tie for first place. The Rangers maintained their 8.5 game lead over the Astros.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

May this be the reward of my accusers from the LORD, of those who speak evil against my life!
But you, O GOD my Lord, deal on my behalf for your name’s sake; because your steadfast love is good, deliver me!
For I am poor and needy, and my heart is stricken within me.
I am gone like a shadow at evening; I am shaken off like a locust.
My knees are weak through fasting; my body has become gaunt, with no fat.
I am an object of scorn to my accusers; when they see me, they wag their heads.
Help me, O LORD my God! Save me according to your steadfast love!
Let them know that this is your hand; you, O LORD, have done it!
Let them curse, but you will bless! They arise and are put to shame, but your servant will be glad!
May my accusers be clothed with dishonor; may they be wrapped in their own shame as in a cloak!
Psalm 109:20-29

Since we are “hidden with Christ in God” (Colossians 3:3), our lives should be lived “beyond the fashions and opinions of other people.” Even if we draw the scorn of others, we still are recipients of the steadfast love of Christ. “The blessing of God is far more determinative for our lives than the curses of people.”

“Father, like Jacob at Peniel, I wrestle and wait. Only your blessing can make me whole. O God ‘from whom all blessings flow,’ bless me. In Jessu’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

. . . but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life. John 4:14

The water that Jesus gives us will become a well, a fountain that will “flow out of the saint as lavishly as it is imparted to him.” If this is not happening, if my life is not flowing out, it is my fault, not the Lord’s. Something is obstructing the flow. If I keep at the Source, what will happen? I will be blessed? That is not the objective. Out of me “will flow rivers of living water, irrepressible life.” That is the goal!

“We are to be centers through which Jesus can flow as rivers of living water in blessing to everyone.” This is not us passing our own blessings on. Rather, it is a river that continuously flows from us. This is accomplished in me by staying “steadfastly true to Jesus Christ.”

Father, keep me true to Christ. I know that I fail daily in this, but by your Spirit, it can be so. I desire to be this fountain, this well, out of which flows rivers of living water. But I don’t necessarily need to see it happening. What is more important is that I stay truly connected to the Source, which is Jesus.

Come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

