The Saint’s Workshop

Today is Saturday, September 10, 2016. 34 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“One cannot and must not try to erase the past merely because it does not fit the present.” – Golda Meir

Word of the Day

Pulverulent – covered with dust or powder.

Today is World Suicide Prevention Day. Somewhere around 41 years ago, my best friend killed himself. You don’t get over something like that. Ever. None of us had any idea that it was even a possibility. If we had, perhaps we could have helped. If you or someone you know is contemplating suicide, please find help. Do something. The National Suicide Hotline is 1-800-273-8255.

Well. Now that I’m all sad . . .

We got my mother home safe and sound last night. C didn’t get off work until almost 7:00 PM, plus she wasn’t feeling great, so S and I went ahead and headed toward Mineral Wells around 6:00-ish. With a side stop at Ginger Brown’s for some good, home-cooked dinner, we got to Mama’s house around 9:00 PM. S and I made a quick stop at the Sonic for something to drink, and headed back home. We got home just before 10:30. I was so tired that I didn’t stay up to play any games and went straight to bed. I actually slept until after 9:00 this morning.

Today, we have to get to the grocery store, so we can prepare something for tonight’s Baptism Party. I think we’re taking the ubiquitous green bean casserole and a dump cake. Two easy things that are both delicious!

The Red Sox increased their lead over the Boo Jays by plucking them 13-3 last night. It was great fun. I got to listen to most of the game on the trip to Mineral Wells. I won’t celebrate too vigorously, however, as the exact opposite could very well happen tonight. That’s the way baseball go, you know. Their “magic number” is 21.

The Rangers squeaked out a 2-1 victory in a late night game against the Halos, which knocked their “magic number” down to twelve. The Astros lost 2-0 to Jon Lester and the Cubbies, which put them 9.5 games behind the Rangers.

With great trepidation, I am pondering the possibility of a Rangers/Red Sox ALCS this October. Looking at the current playoff picture, it could very well happen. If the playoffs started today, there would have to be an initial playoff game (I think) between Detroit and Baltimore to determine the second wild-card spot. Then there would be a wild card playoff game between the winner of that game and the Boo Jays. The winner of that game would face the Rangers, as they have the best record in the AL. The Red Sox would play the Indians (and their ex-coach Tito). If both the Red Sox and Rangers won their five-game ALDS, they would face off in the ALCS. That would be great fun.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

A Psalm of David. The LORD says to my Lord: “Sit at my right hand, until I make your enemies your footstool.”
The LORD sends forth from Zion your mighty scepter. Rule in the midst of your enemies!
Your people will offer themselves freely on the day of your power, in holy garments; from the womb of the morning, the dew of your youth will be yours.
The LORD has sworn and will not change his mind, “You are a priest forever after the order of Melchizedek.”
Psalm 110:1-4

Jesus, the Messiah, united the ancient offices of priest and king. “The king represented power to rule, shape, and guide life. The priest represented power to renew, forgive, and invigorate life.”

“Lord Jesus Christ: rule me and renew me. Establish the purposes of creation in my life; release the energies of the covenant in the responses of my spirit. I willingly offer myself to what you are and what you do. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Nathanael said to him, “How do you know me?” Jesus answered him, “Before Philip called you, when you were under the fig tree, I saw you.” John 1:48

Many of us think that, if a big crisis comes, we will be all right; we will do the right thing. But the truth is, if we are not doing the right thing now, when that crisis comes, we will be useless. “If you are not doing the thing that lies nearest, because God has engineered it, when the crisis comes instead of being revealed as fit, you will be revealed as unfit.” Once again, the writing of Oswald Chambers fits hand-in-hand with teachings on the spiritual disciplines, because those are the things that we need to be doing now, in preparation for the big crisis, the big work.

First and foremost should be our “private relationship of worshipping God.” This is “the great essential of fitness.” If we do this, then, when God sets us free, we will be ready, “because in the unseen life which no one saw but God you have become perfectly fit, and when the strain comes you can be relied upon by God.”

If we begin to think that we don’t have the time for praying or worship or Bible reading because of our current circumstances, we fall into the trap of thinking that, when the opportunity comes, we will be okay. “No, you will not. If you have not been worshipping as occasion serves, when you get into work you will not only be useless yourself, but a tremendous hindrance to those who are associated with you.”

Our workshop is the “hidden, personal, worshipping life of the saint.”

Father, keep me moving forward in this. I read these things, and much of the time I feel as if I am not making progress. But I am confident that I must be, because you are there with me, and you keep reminding me and pulling me toward you. You draw me into your kingdom, daily, even when, and especially when, I fail. In fact, I seem to be noticing those failures much more quickly than I used to notice them. In many cases, immediately. I celebrate this as a victory. As I continue to work the disciplines in my life, draw me in. Center me on your glory; on your face, as I seek you. Make me steadfast, unmovable, so that, when the crisis comes, I will be steady and strong, and you can rely on me.

Come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

