God Listens

Today is Sunday, September 18, 2016. 26 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes.” – Oscar Wilde

Word of the Day

Stentorian – very loud or powerful in sound: a stentorian voice.

Today is Wife Appreciation Day. I just put a post up on Facebook about it. I am so grateful to my wife for standing by me for almost thirty-one years. So, naturally, I had to pick Wife Appreciation Day over Cheeseburger Day.

We’re getting ready for our worship gathering, this morning. We worship with our brothers and sisters at The Exchange, which meets at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 N Beach St in Fort Worth. We meet at 10:15. We always arrive at 8:00 (ish) to help set up and then practice with the worship band.

After the worship gathering, we will be heading straight over to Rangers Ballpark to take in today’s game against the Oakland Athletics, from the City of Arlington’s luxury suite. C was given the tickets at work last week, including a parking pass. Booyah! Last night, the Rangers lost 11-2 to the Athletics. Hopefully, they got that out of their system! Their magic number is now five, which is sort of confusing, because Houston won, but they beat Seattle, who was in second place, but they are now tied with the Astros for second place. The Red Sox beat the Yankees 6-5, and Baltimore and the Boo Jays both lost, dropping the Sox’s magic number down to twelve!

The Southlake concert went very well, last night. We had a great time playing. It was a bit hot, so we were all pretty sweaty afterward, but it was great fun. After the concert, we stopped at Torchy’s Tacos for dinner. C didn’t like it as much I do, but she did like it.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I love the LORD, because he has heard my voice and my pleas for mercy.
Because he inclined his ear to me, therefore I will call on him as long as I live.
The snares of death encompassed me; the pangs of Sheol laid hold on me; I suffered distress and anguish.
Then I called on the name of the LORD: “O LORD, I pray, deliver my soul!”
Psalm 116:1-4

It is truly a wonderful and marvelous thing that our God listens to us. It is hard to fathom, with my puny, finite mind, how this is possible, but I believe it to be so. “His listening gives all our words significance and makes all our prayers personal.”

“I have times of desperation, O God, when I suppose that you neither speak nor listen. When that happens bring me back to this psalm and to Jesus Christ, who also felt despair and now lives to make intercession for me. Amen.”

Father, I praise you that you hear us. I don’t know how you do it, but I believe that you hear the prayers of all of your children, all of the time, and I give you praise for that. It fills me with awe and wonder. When I think about that, it also causes me to consider my words, even when I’m not praying. Teach me the discipline of silence, that I might not spout words that are not necessary. Teach me to not use words that are unkind or demeaning, or words that complain and whine. Teach me to use only words that are edifying. Teach me the words of Jesus! I also pray that you teach me how to listen for you and hear you when you are speaking to me.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

