My All in All

Today be Monday, Monday, September 19, 2016. There be only 25 more days until me mateys and me sail down to Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“Why is the rum gone??” – Captain Jack Sparrow

Word of the Day

Arrrrr – Golly, gee, gosh

Yo, ho, ho, today be Talk Like A Pirate Day! But you might have guessed that, already.

I’m not going to attempt to type my entire blog in pirate-speak, this morning. For one thing, it would take too long to think it all out, and for another thing, it’s too early for that much brain work.

We had a fun time at the game, yesterday. But before that, we had an awesome worship gathering. One thing that made it awesome was how bad our pre-worship band rehearsal went. We struggled big time, especially with one particular song. We finally got it down, and then after we gathered in hallway for pre-worship prayer, things clicked and we got through everything just fine. The pastor preached a great message in his series on work (not “works,” but work, as in the jobs that we have to go to every day). This been an awesome series, as he is trying to give us some perspective on how our everyday, mundane jobs fit into the Kingdom.

The suite from which we got to watch yesterday’s Rangers game, courtesy of USBC, courtesy of the City of Arlington, was right smack behind home plate. What a view, we had. Unfortunately, the Rangers didn’t play very well, and lost 5-2. Colby Lewis had very little ball command over the not-quite-six innings that he pitched, throwing way more balls than strikes and walking in the tying run before Bannister finally took him out. After that, it only got worse. So their magic number has not changed, as Seattle and Houston played each other, and one of them had to win. It turns out that Seattle won, 7-3. The Rangers continue to lead the AL West by 8.5 games. It’s not likely that they will lost first place, but if they keep playing like they did over the weekend, it’s going to be a lot closer than it should have been. And they play nothing but last place teams for the rest of the season. They struggle against last place teams. They start a series with the Angels tonight.

The Red Sox, meanwhile, swept the Yankees in a four game series! Baltimore won, but the Boo Jays lost. So the Red Sox lead the East by three games, and their magic number is 11, with 13 games left. The begin what may turn out to be one of the most important series of the year, tonight, against Baltimore.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Gracious is the LORD, and righteous; our God is merciful.
The LORD preserves the simple; when I was brought low, he saved me.
Return, O my soul, to your rest; for the LORD has dealt bountifully with you.
For you have delivered my soul from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling;
I will walk before the LORD in the land of the living.
I believed, even when I spoke: “I am greatly afflicted”;
I said in my alarm, “All mankind are liars.”
Psalm 116:5-11

The writer of this psalm had exhausted all of his resources. “I am greatly afflicted,” he says. He has also discovered that all of his friends and/or companions were either unable or unwilling to help him, so he cries out, “All mankind are liars.” All that he has is God. God does not let him down, being gracious and righteous, and saves him.

“‘Jesus, my All in all Thou art: my rest in toil, my ease in pain, the healing of my broken heart, in war my peace, in loss my gain, my smile beneath the tyrant’s frown, in shame my glory and my crown’ (Charles Wesley, ‘Thou Hidden Source of Calm Repose’). Amen.”

Father, help me to see that you are all that I have, when it comes to dealing with afflictions, temptations, and the like. You are my sole source of comfort and peace, you are my sole source of salvation, protection, and provision. May you grant me all of these today, and may I look to you for all of them, as well. Teach me your ways, and teach me the words of Jesus. Help me to walk in them, today.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

