Today is . . . um . . . oh, yeah. Wednesday. September 21, 2016. 23 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“Who in their infinite wisdom decreed that Little League uniforms be white? Certainly not a mother.” – Erma Bombeck

Word of the Day

Afflatus – inspiration; an impelling mental force acting from within.

Today is World Gratitude Day. Honestly, if we would all spend a little more time expressing gratitude, I think the world would be a much better place.

Yesterday was pretty much just another day. I did get invited to join a training session about the web tool that I work with every day. There were a couple of new sites coming online, and they thought it would be a good idea to have someone in the session that currently uses the tool. I feel somewhat flattered that they thought of inviting me.

The Red Sox and Rangers both won their games, last night. The Rangers’ magic number is down to two, and the Sox’s is down to eight. Mookie Betts hit that milestone, last night, getting three hits to get his total on the season to 201. He now has 201 hits, 115 runs, 108 RBIs, 31 home runs, 24 stolen bases, AND 40 doubles. I think he should definitely be candidate for MVP this season. I also think Rick Porcello should be a serious contender for the Cy Young award, as he hit 21 wins, a couple nights ago.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Praise the LORD, all nations! Extol him, all peoples!
For great is his steadfast love toward us, and the faithfulness of the LORD endures forever. Praise the LORD!
Psalm 117

All that our God is to us, steadfast love and faithfulness, results in a response of resounding praise.

“‘Holy, holy, holy, the Lord God Almighty, who was and is and is to come. . . . You are worthy, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they existed and were created’ (Revelation 4:8, 11). Amen.”

“Beware lest you forget God’s purpose for your life.” – Oswald Chambers

Father, like Isaiah and Jeremiah before me, I believe that I was formed in the womb to be your servant. I am in no other way comparing myself to those two giants, but only in the aspect that you formed in the womb to be yours. Always remind me of this fact, that I am your servant. Let me not forget the purpose for my life. There have been times when that purpose has become fuzzy. There have also been times when it has been changed by you, if only slightly. Help me to follow your path, walking in your Kingdom, wherever it takes me. Help me to be ready to go when you say go, and ready to stop when you say stop; ready to speak when you say speak, and ready to be silent when you so direct me. Make me completely yours, Father.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

