Living in Gratitude

Today is Thursday, September 22, 2016. It’s the first day of Fall (or Autumn, if you prefer), the Autumnal Equinox. 22 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“Let us always meet each other with smile, for the smile is the beginning of love.” – Mother Teresa

Word of the Day

Flavescent – turning yellow; yellowish. Interesting word. “I came along, I wrote a song for you, And all the things you do, And it was called ‘Flavescent.'” Nope. Doesn’t work.

It was a tough choice today, what with it being “Hobbit Day,” and “Ice Cream Cone Day.” But none of those can trump White Chocolate Day. Because, you know, chocolate. I’ve explained that before. If the day has “books,” “chocolate,” or “music” in it, that’s going to be the one.

Not much going on, again, around here. We have C’s company picnic this Saturday, out at Grapevine Lake. That should be fun (as well as exhausting). Then we have a Night of Worship on Saturday, the first of October. I have decided that I will not be attending my class reunion the following weekend, simply because we have so much going on every weekend around it, and we are leaving for our Galveston trip on October 14. I feel like I need a weekend in there to make sure we have everything in order for the vacation.

As noted previously, today is the official first day of Autumn, being the Autumnal Equinox, one of two days during the year that the length of day and night is exactly equal. It will be 96 degrees here, today. Welcome to Fall in Texas. Next week is looking better, though. There are a couple of days actually projected with highs in the seventies.

The Red Sox beat the Orioles again, last night, 5-1. They have won three straight with Baltimore and have one more today. The Sox have won seven straight, now, and their magic number is now 6. The Boo Jays also lost to the Mariners, yesterday afternoon, in extra innings. That helped immensely!

The Rangers couldn’t come back to beat the Angels, this time, and lost 5-4. The A’s failed to beat the Astros, and, as previously noted, the Mariners beat the Boo Jays, so the Rangers’ magic number remains at 2. The hit Oakland for another series tomorrow, their final road trip of the season. I hope they play better than they did last weekend, but I’m not terribly confident.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever!
Let Israel say, “His steadfast love endures forever.”
Let the house of Aaron say, “His steadfast love endures forever.”
Let those who fear the LORD say, “His steadfast love endures forever.”
Psalm 118:1-4

Every event in Israel’s experience was a demonstration of the steadfast love of the Lord. When people realize this, their gatherings become expressions of gratitude. In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. (1 John 4:10)

“‘The King of love my Shepherd is, whose goodness faileth never; I nothing lack if I am His and He is mine forever. . . . And so through all the length of days Thy goodness faileth never: Good Shepherd, may I sing Thy praise within Thy house forever’ (Henry W. Baker, ‘The King of Love My Shepherd Is’). Amen.”

Father, I pray for more gratitude. As I walk through each day, remind me of your expressions of steadfast love, in my personal life, in the life of my family, and in the lives of my brothers and sisters in Christ. And then, after I am reminded, incite gratitude within my spirit, that I might live each day being fully satisfied in you and your grace, and expressing gratitude for your love.

Come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

