The Disciple’s Goal

Today is FRIDAY! September 23, 2016. 21 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“Good judgment comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgment.” – Barry LePatner

Word of the Day

Pwn – To inflict a humiliating defeat on (an opponent), esp. in an online game. Also: to gain unauthorized access to or compromise (a computer, network, etc.). Pronounced “pone,” this colloquialism likely was the result of someone mistyping in a World of Warcraft chat box, but it caught on, not unlike the popular usage of “teh,” instead of “the.”

Today is Checkers Day. This has nothing to do with the game played with red and black circular game pieces on a board of sixty-four alternating colored squares. It has to do with Richard Nixon’s famous “Checkers Speech,” made on this date in 1952. Checkers, of course, was an adorable Cocker Spaniel. As if there is any other kind of Cocker Spaniel.

It’s Friday! Let’s say it again! It’s Friday!!

The Rangers’ magic number dropped to 1 last night, and they didn’t even play! That’s because the Angels did us a favor and beat the Astros. Tonight, the Rangers are in Oakland, so the game will not start until 9:35 PM, CDT. They could very well clinch the AL West title tonight, while we are sleeping. No, I won’t be staying up to watch it. If I stay up at all, I will be playing on my PS4. But even that won’t be too late, tonight, because tomorrow is C’s company picnic, and we have to be there by 9:00 AM. We don’t usually get up until about that time on Saturday’s.

But wait. There’s more. The Red Sox completed their second consecutive four-game sweep, last night, beating the Orioles 5-3. Their magic number is now 5. The Sox also knocked the O’s out of the wild card spot, at least for now. Detroit currently holds the second WC spot, behind the Boo Jays. After looking at the schedule, I have discovered that the ALCS and NLCS will be going on while we are in Galveston. As previously noted, there is a very real possibility of a Boston/Texas ALCS. Can I get some Xanax, please?

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually! Psalm 105:4
Hear, O LORD, when I cry aloud; be gracious to me and answer me!
You have said, “Seek my face.” My heart says to you, “Your face, LORD, do I seek.”
Hide not your face from me. Turn not your servant away in anger, O you who have been my help. Cast me not off; forsake me not, O God of my salvation!
Psalm 27:7-9
I sought the LORD, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears. Psalm 34:4

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Out of my distress I called on the LORD; the LORD answered me and set me free.
The LORD is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?
The LORD is on my side as my helper; I shall look in triumph on those who hate me.
It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in man.
It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in princes.
All nations surrounded me; in the name of the LORD I cut them off!
They surrounded me, surrounded me on every side; in the name of the LORD I cut them off!
They surrounded me like bees; they went out like a fire among thorns; in the name of the LORD I cut them off!
I was pushed hard, so that I was falling, but the LORD helped me.
The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.
Psalm 118:5-14

What prayer produces is strength for the battle “against the powers of destruction.” We do not bow our heads in submission to the evils of this world; rather we do faithful battle with them. I can do all things through him who strengthens me. (Philippians 4:13)

“Grant, O God, that by your Spirit I may find motive and means to speak and act in your name. I need courage to face all the skirmishes of daily living and take confidence in your promises given in Jesus Christ, in whose name I pray. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

And taking the twelve, he said to them, “See, we are going up to Jerusalem, and everything that is written about the Son of Man by the prophets will be accomplished.” Luke 18:31

What is the goal of the disciple? Pure and simply, it is the Lord’s will. The beginning and end of our “Christian” lives is Jesus. It is Jesus Christ, not our ideas about what the Christian life should be. Our goal is “not to be useful, not to win the heathen.” Read that carefully. Both of those things may very well happen, but they are not our ultimate goal. Our goal is simply to do the will of the Lord.

Jesus was going to Jerusalem, and nothing detained him. He did not hurry through villages where he was persecuted, nor did he stay longer in places where he felt blessed. As we are on our way to our “Jerusalem,” God’s work will be manifest through us, people will be blessed; some will show gratitude, many will not. There will even be those who will display hatred (or, perhaps, even worse, indifference) toward us, but we should not allow any of these things to deter us from our final goal. We strive for God’s will to be done.

Father, lead me toward my Jerusalem. May I live such a life that your will becomes second nature to me. May I practice the disciplines so that whenever I am faced with choices, I do not have to agonize over what your will might be; I will know it. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth, and may that walking be done in the “easy yoke” of Christ. Show me how to celebrate life in Christ, and enjoy it to the fullest, no matter what my lot may be.

Come, Lord Jesus!

“Lord God, almighty and everlasting Father, you have brought me in safety to this new day: Preserve me with your mighty power, that I may not fall into sin, nor be overcome by adversity; and in all I do direct me to the fulfilling of your purpose; through Jesus Christ my Lord. Amen.” (From The Divine Hours)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

