The Citadel of Obstinacy

Today is Saturday, September 24, 2016. The Texas Rangers have clinched the AL West! 20 days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“There is nothing that is going to make people hate you more, and love you more, than telling the truth.” ― Stefan Molyneux

Word of the Day

CackleberryFacetious. a hen’s egg used for food. I shall forevermore refer to eggs as “cackleberries.”

Today is International Rabbit Day (because I have given up trying to encourage people on social media to use punctuation), so take good care of our hippity, hoppity friends today. Assume it’s duck season.

As previously noted, the Texas Rangers clinched the AL West last night. It was initially clinched when the Astros lost to the Angels, since the magic number was one. The announcers at the game were acting like they clinched because they beat the Athletics. Either way would have done it, and it’s better that they won. It was an encouraging game, as they beat the A’s 3-0, and Cole Hamels had a solid outing, after having several not-so-solid games.

The Red Sox won their ninth consecutive, beating Tampa 2-1, and lowering their magic number to four. Unfortunately, the Boo Jays beat the Yankees, so the Red Sox remain 5.5 games ahead of them. But Baltimore and Detroit also won, keeping the Wild Card race in the AL very close. What’s going on in the National League, you ask? I have no clue. I don’t follow the National League. All I know is the Cubs ran away with it this year.

We have C’s company picnic today, which is why I’m up so early on a Saturday morning. We need to be out at Grapevine Lake by 9:00 to start setting things up. The picnic starts at 10:00 and ends at 3:00 PM. That’s only five hours, so that’s not too bad. Hopefully, we’ll be home by 5:00, with plenty of time to rest up for our worship gathering tomorrow.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh, magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together! Psalm 34:3
Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law. Psalm 119:18

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Glad songs of salvation are in the tents of the righteous: “The right hand of the LORD does valiantly,
the right hand of the LORD exalts, the right hand of the LORD does valiantly!”
I shall not die, but I shall live, and recount the deeds of the LORD.
The LORD has disciplined me severely, but he has not given me over to death.
Psalm 118:15-18

There is exuberant praise in the community of God’s people. “The gospel is life-affirming and death-defeating.” Thanks be to God for his inexpressible gift! 2 Corinthians 9:15

“Dear God, every sin that I thought was a barrier between you and me has been, by your grace, made into a bridge. You have used the very things that separate us as ways to approach me with new life. Thank you. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

So if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar and go. First be reconciled to your brother, and then come and offer your gift. Matthew 5:23-24

We tend to look at preparation as something that is suddenly accomplished, and then we can move on. But it is more of a process that must be continuously maintained.

We also tend to have no problem sacrificing something big, especially young Christians. We are always looking for a chance to be heroic. We need to allow the Word of God to scrutinize us. Whatever the Holy Spirit is detecting “is the disposition that will never work in His service.” Only God can detect this within us. Do we have something to hide from God? What a ridiculous notion, right? But when we allow God to fully search us, and if he detects something, we need to immediately confess it. “Never discard a conviction.” We may be looking for some great thing to give up, but he may be showing us a tiny thing. Break down the walls of the “citadel of obstinacy.” We must give up our right to ourselves if we are to be disciples of Christ.

Father help me break down those walls of the “citadel of obstinacy.” Even after all this time, I still forget and insist upon my right to myself, a right that I should have given up long ago. I can’t expect you to speak to me or work with or in me if I maintain this fortress within me. While I believe in your sovereignty, I also believe that you will not invade that fortress forcefully. You will arrange events in my life, however, to “encourage” me to tear it down. Whatever the case, I want to break it down. I want to surrender my rights to myself to you, as it should be. Teach me your way, and teach me the words of Jesus, that I might walk in them and his easy yoke.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

