Faith and Imagination

Today is Monday, September 26, 2016. Eighteen days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.” – Maya Angelou

Word of the Day

Tantivy – at a gallop

Today is Batman Day, which I will celebrate in honor of my son-in-law, who is a big Batman fan. Batman first appeared (according to this article) in 1939. In movies and television, there have been quite a few Batmans (“batmen?”), and probably just as many opinions as to who is the best one. I dare say that the most beloved still has to be Adam West, simply because he seems to be a very lovable person. No one really takes that short-lived TV series seriously, though, as it didn’t even seem to take itself seriously. I am of the opinion that the villains cast in those episodes have yet to be surpassed, with the possible exception of Heath Ledger as The Joker. Julie Newmar as Catwoman, Burgess Meredith as The Penguin, Cesar Romero as The Joker, and Frank Gorshin as the Riddler. Oh, and we mustn’t forget Roddy McDowall as The Bookworm!

It was an interesting weekend, if not somewhat tragic. We had a great time at the USBC picnic on Saturday, in spite of the periodic rain that disrupted the outdoor bowling tournament. The hot dogs served at the picnic were, I believe, the best I have ever eaten. C and I played a round of Cornhole, lost our only game in the bowling tournament (I’m not terribly unhappy about that, as the pair that were not bowling had to be at the other end, resetting the pins . . . lots of bending over), and threw softballs at the dunking tank, where we dunked C’s boss, along with a couple others. I became momentarily famous (as well as feared) as I dunked three people, one of them on my first throw.

The tragedies occurred yesterday, as news broke that a Miami Marlins pitcher, Jose Fernandez, was killed in a boating accident, early Sunday morning. He was 24 years old. The Miami game was cancelled for yesterday, and the pre-game ceremony planned by Tampa Bay to honor David Ortiz was cancelled at Ortiz’s request. Ortiz was seen in tears before their game began.

News also broke yesterday that golfing great Arnold Palmer passed away at the age of 87.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Not to us, O LORD, not to us, but to your name give glory, for the sake of your steadfast love and your faithfulness! Psalm 115:1
This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I thank you that you have answered me and have become my salvation.
The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone.
This is the LORD’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes.
This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.
Save us, we pray, O LORD! O LORD, we pray, give us success!
Psalm 118:21-25

Mankind rejects God’s gift of life, because, due to “the fall,” our minds are “death-conditioned.” But God continues to offer this gift of life, in spite of our rejection. “He comes again and uses what we have rejected to build our lives in salvation and to hold us together in eternity.”

“God, my imagination is faithless and my faith is unimaginative. How often I fail to see and use what is right before me! How often I impatiently discard the very thing you have patiently provided to help me in my need! Overcome all my impatient rejections with your patient acceptance of me in Jesus Christ! Amen.”

Father, give my faith the imagination it needs to see what you have provided and to always choose the right thing when offered a choice. I pray that you would garrison my imagination against the things that the world throws at it in attempts to distract me from faith and right choices. Take over my mind with your Spirit, while opening it to your wonders of life. “You are life, you are love, you bring light to the darkness; you give hope, you restore every heart that is broken; great are you Lord!”

Come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

