The True Disciple

Today is Wednesday, September 28, 2016. Sixteen days until Galveston!

Quote of the Day

“Indecision may or may not be my problem.” – Jimmy Buffett

Word of the Day

Eristic – “pertaining to controversy or disputation; controversial.”

Today is Ask A Stupid Question Day. Perhaps, though, you agree with the saying, “The only stupid question is the one you didn’t ask.”

It’s the fourth Wednesday in September, so we will have our Anchor prayer gathering this evening. We are considering changing how we do that, though, and, perhaps combining it with our monthly-ish Night of Worship. That might be more effective. The pastor, the Night of Worship leader, and I have all been discussing this.

The Red Sox lost to the Yankees, last night, 6-4. It had to happen, eventually. They had won eleven in a row! Unfortunately, the Boo Jays beat the Orioles, so the magic number is still 1. The Rangers had another comeback win against the Brewers, last night, 6-4. They are, once again, atop the American League. They have four more regular season games. The Red Sox have five. It’s great fun when the final weekend of the season has an impact on all the top teams.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

O God, save me by your name, and vindicate me by your might.
O God, hear my prayer; give ear to the words of my mouth.
Psalm 54:1-2
I will offer to you the sacrifice of thanksgiving and call on the name of the LORD. Psalm 116:17
The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth. Psalm 145:18

(From Praying With the Psalms)

You are my God, and I will give thanks to you; you are my God; I will extol you.
Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever!
Psalm 118:28-29

As we grow more in our knowledge of God, we have more reason to praise him and thank him. “Every discovery of goodness and love is provocation to praise.”

“Because I know your goodness, O God, I can recognize goodness in the world around me. Thank you. Because I experience your steadfast love, I can give and receive love among the people around me. Thank you. Receive all my thanksgivings in and through Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

And Jesus, looking at him, loved him, and said to him, “You lack one thing: go, sell all that you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me.” Mark 10:21

When Jesus calls a disciple, it is not about personal holiness. In fact, this is never put forth as a priority for a disciple. What is put forth is “absolute annihilation of my right to myself and identification with Himself–a relationship with Himself in which there is no other relationship.” Chambers then cites Luke 14:26: “If anyone comes to me and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be my disciple.” This is not about salvation. It is about “unconditional identification with Jesus Christ.”

There is only one “good thing,” from the perspective of Christ; “union with Himself and nothing in between.” In order to truly be his disciple, I must renounce any claim to myself, as well as all possessions (this does not necessarily mean giving things away or selling them, simply that possessions do not own me). This does not save me. It makes me a disciple with full identification with Christ.

Are there any true disciples today?

Father, I have a true desire to be a disciple, but I fear that I am too much like this rich young ruler. Not so much that I hold on to my possessions, because they have grown to mean very little me over past years. It is more about relationships and self-seeking. I am still a very selfish person, and seem to be continuously judging people unfairly. So my prayer is that you dig deep within me and transform these things in my life. Again, this is what the disciplines are for, and I will continue to try to work those into my life. But I cannot do it without your Spirit enabling me and pressing me. Draw me into yourself, that I may walk in your kingdom and step into the easy yoke of Christ.

Come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

